it’s going to be okay

Once again, Marie Forleo has wise words:

I have had a busy time. From coming back last week to full days of classes, it’s been hectic to say the least. I am grateful to see the weekend but tomorrow, I am going to a dialysis center because my tutor in charge recommends we go there. It’s going to be a thirty minute drive to the place so that’s going to be a moderately awkward drive. haha. I’ll probably write about it tomorrow.

Anyway, being home was good. I love home. Yesterday was my dad’s birthday and I missed it because I’m here. It kinda sucks because I’m usually the one who gets very hyped up about presents and baking nice things for the birthday person; I’m ridiculous that way. I think the next time I go back will be for the two weeks in June AKA the semester break.

Something strange happened today. My kid-cousin who is twelve this year was posting sad status updates on Facebook and the next thing I know, he posted a ‘I MISS YOU, YOU’RE AN INSPIRATION’ message on my page. It’s really weird because I’m not at all close to him, though in comparison to my brother, I actually bother to talk to him at family gatherings. And because I’m the one who is usually present for family stuff, I guess I’m the closest cousin he has who is not younger than him. Anyway, I sent him a message to see how he was doing, and he claimed that he was ‘fine’ but was just ‘contemplating life after watching TFIOS’. And that he felt bad for being ‘mean’ to me before. (He was a kid, and kids say whatever comes to mind without a filter, so I never really cared about his rubbish before).

AND he started asking me for study tips. It was kinda mind-boggling and for a moment there, I thought I was being trolled. But it seems like he was in earnest, so I just babbled a bit about what worked for when I was 12. It was a weird, surreal experience. Really. He kept going on and on about how I was hardworking and I have no idea where he got that notion from. I’m not that hardworking, I get by. I bet my aunt was nagging him and cited me as an example for some reason.

Again, I cannot believe that happened.

So, what other things happened this week? As part of my GP posting, I have to attend weekly attachments to a private GP clinic. We are suppose to learn via observation and discuss stuff with the doctor we are assigned to. This week, I observed a pregnancy ultrasound and for some reason, I got really psyched about it. I know, it’s a simple procedure and it’s all black and white, but it was one of those moments when you realise that those blurry images on the screen is growing and becoming a person. I could kinda make out the head and the spine even before the doctor explained the images. It’s silly but it was cool(?). It was one of those ‘moments’ that’s hard to explain. 😂

Apart from that, this week’s assignment came back with minimal ‘red marks’ which is a big deal to me. haha. It’s always good to receive validation that your work is satisfactory (Dare i say, possibly, even good? haha).

So yes, I’ve had a busy but rough week (rough: mentally/emotionally). And I am okay. I think it’s good to always remember that it’s going to be okay. Even when it’s bad, it’s likely to be okay. And that people love you and support you. Most things in life can be mended as long as you’re willing to try. Most importantly, do not give up.

Okay, yeah, that last paragraph was a little haphazard. But you know what I mean.

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 11.07.47 PM

Leave a comment