Sticky Toffee Pudding

The first time I had Sticky Toffee Pudding/Sticky Date Pudding was at the Melbourne Supper Club in 2016. It ranks as one of the best things I ate in Australia and I would definitely recommend it if you find yourself in the area.

For some reason, I happened on a recipe for Sticky Toffee Pudding on the Smitten Kitchen website and I decided to make it. After a quick stop at the supermarket to find dates and a packet of whipping cream, I dedicated my evening to creating it.

So first off, here’s the recipe: STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING

I like to make things that I personally want to eat but as I have said before, the baking process is more therapeutic than anything else. And I always end up not wanting to eat the thing I made at the end of it. I don’t what that says about me.

1

Here’s a close up of the cake-base, which reminds me of the Crack in the Wall from Series 5 of Doctor Who.

doctorwho513

tumblr_ln4lx3pzik1qgnvuj

Here’s the toffee sauce that FYI takes longer than 10 minutes to stir through to thicken if you’re using a small flame. The trick to know when it’s ‘thick enough’ is to dip your spoon in the sauce, turn it over to the curved side, run your finger through the sauce on that side: If there’s a clear separation in the sauce, then it’s thick enough. If the sauce ‘joins’ back together, then it’s too runny.

I don’t think I explained that clearly.

3

Also, I think you could cut down on the sugar in the sauce, depending on how you like it. I personally found it way too sweet.

2

so there we go, Sticky Date/Toffee Pudding! I didn’t realise till after soaked the dates, that the recipe could feed a good 12 people. Big mistake, yes, but now I have date-toffee cake for days.

 

frown-pout

Leave a Reply

