6

I went to Sydney last weekend for a four day trip with six other friends. The last time I was there was when I was 16 years old, wrote like this and did Dikir Barat as the part of the Cultural Performance section of World Youth Day.

I didn’t do much proper sight-seeing back then and though some things were a bit of a repeat, it was a whole lot of fun going away from the ward for some time.

We stayed at Maze Backpackers in the ‘Hufflepuff’ section. It wasn’t too bad overall, aside from the damp scent that constantly hung around the rooms. We needed a place to crash and it served its purpose.

The seven of us did all of the classic tourist-y things like going up to Blue Mountain, taking the cable cars, walked across the Harbour Bridge, popped by the Sydney Opera House, got on a few ferries to go to the more popular beaches (though I did not swim because of reasons) and did a ‘pay what you think it merits’ walk-around-the-city tour. Five of us also caught a performance of Aladdin at the Capitol Theatre that was highly entertaining. For some reason, I was the only one who downloaded the Opal app (it’s the public transport card-tracking-system type thing in Sydney) so I ended up navigating all of us everywhere.

Naturally, this trip was not without it’s hiccups. I lost my guest-keycard and my Opal card on the morning of Day 3, probably fell out of my pocket on the way to the bathroom, so I had to get a brand new Opal card, and pay a 20AUD fine for the guest-keycard- such a waste of money. Also, I had to buy a toothbrush and shower gel because I left my toiletries back in Melbourne. C’est la vie, right?

But all in all, it was a good time; costly, yes, but a good time nonetheless.
8

Bondi Beach

7

Il Porcellino- you rub it’s nose for luck, which is why that’s the shiniest part of the figurine

6

Yes, that face is not creepy at all. Our tour guide said that they tore down the old one and gave it a face lift to make it look less menacing (the Luna Park in Melbourne has a creepier face) to increase tourist flow, but that did not work out at all. The place was so quiet that if a clown with an axe stood there, it would not look out of place at all.

5

I took this when we walked across the Sydney Harbour Bridge. I say across because it costs about 245 AUD to walk ON the bridge. So naturally, we did the cheaper version of it.

4

Yes, I got on a ferry-type-boat thing. If I stared at the water for a good while and over thought things, it could get to me.

3

I did not take this picture.

2

Capitol Theatre has to be the prettiest theatre I’ve been to so far. You should look up the Google Map-type view of the inside.

1

And I did not take this picture either.

9

The seven of us and our tour guide up to Blue Mountain. He was a great storyteller. Black and white because the original image was quite pixelated. I also did not that this one, but you knew that already.

By this time next week, I’ll already be at home. I cannot wait.

happy-mindy

3 thoughts on “6

Leave a Reply

