17

Another week has gone by and I’m fairly glad for that. We are below the 20’s now, which is a great feeling. And shocker guys, I’m in Starbucks again.

A friend and I watched a Scottish musical “Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour” which was an exercise in seeing what the human mind can do. It took a full 5 minutes before I could understand what they were saying. Clearly, my Babel Fish isn’t working that well.

tumblr_n9raos3mif1shl3p1o1_1280

It was quite a production, pretty unexpected in some ways. I must applaud the talent that was on stage, they did their roles very well. The vocals were incredible. The plot was alright, I get where they were coming from. I could picture the whole thing being a TV movie but set in the 90’s like My Mad Fat Diary. It had that sort of feel.

Today has been a pretty up and down day so far. I woke up a little later than I expected to, managed to wrangle my way to the train and to church. I had not gone to church in about two weeks. That’s what happens when you’re downright lazy/ miss the train.

Here are unnecessary pictures of my breakfast:

img_4483img_4482

Melanie and I watched High School Musical 3 together this afternoon via the wonders of the internet because we had never seen it. Aside from the connectivity issues that took over half an hour to resolve, it was pretty fun. Kenny Ortega did a really good job directing that movie, and the choreography was really, really good. As cheesy as 80% of the dialogue was, it was well done.

1435336707-tumblr_nq7zf2kmvy1qf2zyko2_250

Half way through the movie there was a power outage that I had hope would resolve itself by the time the movie was over, but that did not happen. Which is why I am here in Starbucks, once more. My latop was at 11% and my phone at 36%. There was no way that I was going to survive the rest of the evening in my room. (Yes, this qualifies as a ‘first world problem’)The owner wasn’t home, the other housemate left for his evening shift and I could not find the power box to see it was a simple trip. I needed a power source to charge my devices and after 6pm, there are seriously limited places to do so. So, here we are back in the city, in a chain coffee store that originated in the US of A.

Now on to something a bit more serious-

Here’s something I have come to realise this week that I have always known but not really ‘known’: patients have lives. Well, more specifically, geriatric patients have lives before they became old.

I’m not phrasing this well.

What I’m trying to say is that I’m a concieted little prick that rarely acknowledges or remembers that other people have lives. I was speaking to this one patient in the ward whom I’ve gotten to know quite well over the course of three weeks. She’s a frail old lady, 88 years in age, with poor eyesight, even poorer hearing, who came in initially with a fracture of her left knee. She is one of the 3 or 4 people on my ‘side of the ward’ that can actually hold a conversation, and since I don’t do as much in this ward, I spend quite a bit of time talking to her every day.

She has had quite a life! She joined the communist party in Australia when she was 18, attended many World Peace conferences all over the planet, raised 2 daughters singlehandedly after she separated from her husband. This little old lady was a communist. It took a while to comprehend that.

People have lives outside the hospital. I don’t know why but for some reason, I forgot that. ‘Forgot’ isn’t quite the right word, I glaze over that fact. Especially when it comes to the ‘golden citizens’ that come in. It’s easy to think of them as the ‘older population’ who have all the co-morbidities for all sorts of conditions, with age playing the most significant role. But they all have lives that may be complete ‘out there’ and unexpected. I don’t know why I don’t keep that in mind often enough.

I have made friends with this old lady and I was genuinely sad to see her go last Friday. ‘Go’ as in back to the residential care facility she was from, not ‘go’ as in ‘pass away’. I don’t have a friend in the ward anymore, and the next three weeks are gonna be a little trying because of that.

Wait, not three weeks, 17 days. Just 17 days.

One thought on “17

Leave a Reply

