94

I delayed this by a few days but guys, I fell sick on Thursday and I’m still sick now. It’s Tuesday. I’m in the library again, and tapping away at this keyboard while waiting for clinic to start.

So, week 1 in Rad Onc. It’s been okay.

Honestly, I’ve been a lot busier. I’m in the hospital for longer hours, but that does not necessarily mean I’m doing more. There’s some moments of me sitting around waiting as always, but yeah, generally busier.

I’m actually writing more in this department since I’m actually given the intern role, so that’s not too bad. I’m a little more fnctional, so that’s always good. I also watched brachytherapy being done last Wednesday, so that was interesting. At one point, the resident wanted to give me his pager so I could ‘hold on to it’ and help him answer pages. Not that I actually know how to answer pages. hah.

But it’s okay. I do miss the comfort of knowing where to go and what to do most of the time, but I’m settling in alright. I must admit that I would rather be ‘free-er’ and go do whatever I want in the afternoons, but that’s just the lazy person that is me.

I still have not gotten round to meeting my supervisor so he can get the assessment form, but honestly, I have only seen him that ONE TIME and I don’t think he even knew I exist. But whatever. I’ll deal with that later on.

I met a new registrar yesterday and she seems pretty nice. I have decided that I’ll be spending most of my time hanging out with her instead, just so I can make the most out of my time here.

My week aside from that has been quite busy. We went to Philip Island on Saturday and then, Funny Girl on Sunday. I’ll admit that I was underwhelmed with Funny Girl. I think in my head, I thought it was going to be far far more entertaining than it was. But after watching the movie with Barbara Streisand, I knew that I should not expect much. I mean, yes, it was good, but it would not be on my list of ‘favourite musicals’ I’ve seen.

All in all, I’m doing okay. I am hoping to cook myself a homecooked meal today, instead of eating crap and buying stuff from shops. I know, it’s awful. I swear, my diet since being in Melbourne has been pretty shite.

My med school ‘partner in crime’is away this weekend so I’m going to be spending my weekend on my own terms. It’s likely that I’ll be going to the Degas exhibit and maybe attempt to watch a movie here (although the ticket prices are outrageous). We shall see how this plays out. I’m more looking forward to sleeping in as long as I want as there is no pressure of having to be somewhere at a certain time.

Anyway, have a good week ahead, lovelies. I hope to write about good things soon.

Leave a Reply

