2015 Small Screen Time

shows

This year has been a good year of TV in my opinion, so here’s my list, which either include specific episodes or just a show in general:

theย ๐Ÿ‘Œs

Agent Carter

I worship at the proverbial altar of Margaret Carter. This show has done so much to inspire both women and men. Hayley Atwell does well (pun!) in being both vulnerable and resilient. There is so much to admire in both her and this show. A MUST WATCH if you remotely enjoyed Captain America, and want more Marvel backstory.

Supergirl

This one is cheesy as anything but goodness, does it feel good to see Supergirl. A female superhero, at least one with powers, on TV. That is rare. And Supergirl at that! Melissa Benoist brings so much charm and sweetness in being Kara Zor El/Kara Danvers, that you believe her, and you believe she wants the world to be better. And Alex Danvers is an automatic favourite of mine. This show may have started as a ‘cute-sy’ type thing, but there is this wonderful twist a few episodes in that made me cheer.

Jessica Jones

This is a must mention because you get absolutely sucked into this world. David Tennant as a villain, Krysten Ritter as a victim of abuse who’s putting her life back together, with Rachael Taylor as the best sister/best friend you could ask for. With neat references to other Marvel heroes, and a visit by the Night Nurse from Netflix’s Daredevil, this is an instant hit. You don’t need much background to follow it, it’s well explained and best of all, it’s all complete, so there is no need to wait.

My Mad Fat Diary

This show had 3 seasons, and was beautifully done. The best portrayal of eating disorders/self mutilation/depression in a young person I have ever seen on TV. They did justice to how this felt, they captured the pain like never before. And MMFD ended this year on a logical, realistic note that was very clever.

Unreal

Okay this show was one I did not think I would care for, but as a person who has spent a lot of time watching crap reality TV, a show about the inner workings of a reality show is an eye opener. I cannot look at The Bachelor the same way again. If you enjoy watching or have a hate-love relationship with reality TV shows, this would be right up your alley.

tumblr_inline_o035osizov1qega5p_500
Outlander

I read this book because the show was coming out (last year really), and there was this part of the book that made me put it down because it was harrowing. And when they adapted that part in the series, I teared up, and I paused it multiple times because it was raw, brutal and simply brave. I know not many people like the whole concept of a time traveling nurse who falls in love in the past, but the acting in this show brings the book to life in a way I could have never imagined.

Scream Queens

This has to be one of my favourites of the year. A pretty standalone series, it’s about murders in a sorority. Basically a dark comedy, Scream Queens is the brainchild of Ryan Murphy, and I applaud how insane this show is. It’s so funny, it’s smart, and the ending was genius. If I were to say more, I would ruin it. If you want something to marathon and sink your teeth into without having to strain your brain too much, this is it.

Honorary mention:ย And Then There Were None

Not quite a TV series but it was a TV adaptation of my favourite Agatha Christie novel. I remember being so mindblown when I first read this book. It is known to be her finest, and this adaptation does it justice. And if you need a little more incentive:

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 12.08.10 PMScreen Shot 2015-12-29 at 12.06.01 PM

On the fence:

Teen Wolf

Yes, yes, I know. This is an MTV show about a teenage werewolf boy. But it was good, guys! And I stand by the fact that Scott McCall is the most honest, and kindest, and most honorable character on TV. But this season has made this show very, very dull indeed. I no longer look forward to seeing what happens. I may still be a little bitter over the fact that Allison Argent is dead, but still, this show has bitten off more than it can chew. I really hope it figures itself out soon enough or it’ll be on the ‘boo’ list next year.

scott

The ๐Ÿ‘Ž:

Dr. Ken

I watched one episode because Ken Jeong was funny in Community. But that one episode was all I bothered with. It’s not funny, the jokes are stale.. and really, there isn’t much more to add to this. Does it get better? Maybe. Am I intrigued enough to give it another shot? No. Maybe if it gets some sort of accolade from someone I know. Aside from that, this was awful.

(no, I didn’t bother with looking up a gif for this)

I’d love to hear what you thought of any of these shows, or if there’s something that you particularly enjoyed or hated in 2015.

Leave a Reply

