2015 in Review- Books

Untitled-2

As part of the last few days in the year, I thought I’d do a 2015 review.  I’m starting with this:

IMG_1460the👌s

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven

This is the story of depression, the toll it takes on someone, coming to close to the edge (in the most literal sense), and having someone step in to save you. It’s the story of two teenagers, Theodore Finch and Violet Markey, battling the same problem and how they support each other through it. I’m not doing the book justice. It’s a good story, a good portrayal of the inner conflicts, and blended with young love. I recommend it.

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN by Paula Hawkins

One of the most popular books of 2015, no doubt. And it was genuinely a good read. I read it twice in a day because it was the only book I brought with me to Kota Kinabalu when I picked up my grandmother. It’s the story of a protagonist that just won’t quit, in both her bad habits and her obsession with a couple that she sees every day on her trips to work on the train. When ‘something’ happens, Rachel takes it on herself to be the hero of the day. And things don’t always work out so simply.

WHY NOT ME? by Mindy Kaling

I can rave about how much Mindy means to me, but I’m going to try to keep that to a minimum. This book was written for her fans and people who love comedy-writing. It was a good follow-up to her previous book, and one I would recommend to anyone with a funny bone.

MORE THAN THIS by Patrick Ness

I think this book has to be one that I recommend to anyone interested in the YA genre because it’s unlike any other I have ever read. It starts out one way and ends up bringing you on this trip to a whole other place. I cannot say more because it would ruin the book, but boy, it takes you on a ride!

and the big miss 😕

WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart

Alright, alright, before you all go berserk, it wasn’t a huge miss. I just figured out the ending after a few chapters into the book, so the big reveal at the end wasn’t a big deal to me. I don’t endorse that you read this book, but I will not rave as much as everyone else about it because I wasn’t surprised.

 

Leave a Reply

