Things that make me cry

This list is part serious stuff and part stuff that’s kinda ridiculous. If you did not already know, I am fairly pathetic. Judge if you like:

  1. People my parents age working paycheck to paycheck jobs
    Like, say, someone like my dad working at a toll booth. It’s not a ‘fulfilling vocation’ per se. and you get the feeling that he/she doesn’t want to be there, but they have to. That gets to me. Like this video that went viral on Facebook. I know that it’s a good thing that they have jobs, but sometimes thinking about the position they must be in to still have to work at that age, and not even a job that they love. 😞
  2. Freaking ‘Homeward Bound’
    Have you seen the ending to this movie? HAVE YOU? DOES IT NOT MAKE YOU CRY?!!! WHEN HE THINKS HIS DOG DIDN’T MAKE IT BUT HE DID, I FREAKING LOSE IT. HOW CAN YOU NOT?!!
  3. THE FOX AND THE HOUND
    Okay, I’m going to stop shouting. This movie was depressing as hell. Are you kidding me? They cannot be friends. I watched this as a kid and I NEVER rewatched the whole thing. It breaks my heart every time.
  4. ‘It’s Quite Uptown’ from Hamilton
    I cry at songs, I really do. But this song is heartwrenching. It’s right after Alexander Hamilton and his wife, Eliza lose their son Philip. and how the grieving process was, and how they grew back together because they were so broken. ugh. “Philip you would like it uptown” HECK NO.
  5. The picture of my late dog Julius that I have on my shelf
    As you can tell, I get very emotional about dogs. Or pets. And I have this picture of the dog I grew up with till I was 15. He was the last of the three I had as a child and he was family. Losing him was terrible. I can smile at that photo from time to time, but there are days when I just look at it and cry.
  6. When my friends cry.
    I am way too empathetic that I absorb people’s pain. Literal empath right here. I may not have gone through the loss that you did but if you’re my friend and you’re crying, it’s highly likely that I will cry too.
  7. The end of Fringe
    Okay, this is a TV show, and I have had TV shows end. But I will never, ever, ever cry as much as I did when Walter Bishop had to leave his son for the world to not break apart. There is nothing sadder than the performance by John Noble and Joshua Jackson in that scene. I cried for hours.
  8. Pope John Paul II
    This is such a young Catholic person thing, but the love I have for the late Pope John Paul II is ridiculous. I think every young Catholic who was aware of who he was and what he had done loved him. I read a book that Jason Evert wrote about him a few months ago and I cried.
  9. Anyone’s funeral
    It is normal to cry when you lose someone, sure. But I have attended masses in church without knowing it was someone’s funeral. and despite not knowing that person, I can cry. Like I said, overly emotional.
  10. When the thing I’m baking ‘DOES NOT WORK’
    I have had meltdowns in the kitchen because you freaking beat those egg whites to get them all shiny and stiff and okay to put over your head without it falling, only to drop the whole bowl of it on the floor. That is the worst.dr-who
Leave a Reply

