Enough

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 9.55.52 PM

I am in the midst of creating something based on the Lydia Bennet of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries for a Tumblr user, because I signed up for ‘Secret Santa for the Literary Web series Fans’. I ended up rewatching the whole series while doing paperwork and it brought me back to 2012 when I was obsessed with this production. It still is a revolutionary series, winning that Emmy and all.

But while searching for inspiration I happened to find a gifset of Daisy Johnson with the quote above. I thought it was suitable for Lydia’s character, and I’m basing my creation on that.

Anyway, that’s not really what the topic here is today- I want to write about how enough YOU are.

One of my favourite Broadway performers, Sierra Boggess loves using this quote because she was taught this by someone she considers a ‘guru’ in life. And partly because I adore Sierra, but mostly because of how beautiful it is, it’s become part of my mantra.

This is the quote:

You are enough. You are so enough. It is unbelievable how enough you are.

Isn’t that something? I think we often forget that. As a society, we strive for the betterment of ourselves and of the culture, but we sometimes lose sight of how substantial people are in this moment, at this point in time.

We are bubbling with potential. We are kinetic and potential energy just waiting to be converted into something else. We have so much to give, we are capable of so much. As a species, we are incredible. We are intricate, we are beautifully designed, we are designers ourselves.

You are enough.

No matter how many people leave you, no matter what struggles you have faced or are to face, you are enough. You are an incredible being, placed here in this point in time to make an impact. You are unique, you are a blessing. You change people’s lives every day, in little ways, by the choices you make.

You are enough.

Just because someone walks out of your life, just because you failed that test, just because you didn’t attain what you dreamt of, just because people have given up on you, just because you don’t fit into the mould, does not mean that you are not worth it. Your existence has a purpose.

You are enough.

You need to start believing that, I need to start believing that. It’s a good mantra to have, especially when you struggle with controlling the ruckus in your head.

‘You are enough’, I tell myself, when the urge to lean over that porcelain bowl creeps up. ‘You are enough’, I tell myself, when I need a boost in the mornings because the night before was a battle. ‘You are enough’, I tell myself, when I find that I feel completely and irrationally alone.

Who is this post for?

For you, if you’re going through a bad time. For myself, for the days when I need to remember that I’m better than my insecurities. For those of us who need a reminder that we are more than what is external.

You are enough. You are so enough. It is unbelievable how enough you are.

 

Leave a Reply

