Everyday Sexism

No, I’m not going to go on a rant about how men are jerks.

I’m going to talk about the everyday things that men AND women do, that are sexist.

Like when someone doesn’t drive properly or parks badly, the first reaction is ‘it must be a lady driver’.

Or when being introduced to a person in power, we tend to be surprised if it’s a woman.

Something I cringe to remember is a conversation I had with friends last year, where a GIRL who is also in medical school said that she would rather have a male surgeon operate on her than a female.

Where does this come from? This idea that women cannot perform as well as men. Why is it that a female engineer, or a female CEO, or a female pilot gets the quirk of an eyebrow? Why does it immediately place distrust in our minds?

I honestly cannot pinpoint what exactly is the reason our brains are configured that way. or moulded that way, for a lack of a better word.

Is it the usual excuse of ‘a woman is ruled by her menstrual cycle’? Is it that same ignorance that has landed us in this situation? Or is it years and years of telling girls that they have ‘certain roles’ in society? ‘You can be the stewardess, but leave the piloting to the boys’.

When I was young, my parents told me I could be anything I wanted to be. but even teachers would place you in categories: girls should have more nurturing roles while boys were allowed to dream of more physically taxing roles like police work or being a firefighter.

I don’t know. I don’t get it. Maybe it’s a cultural thing. Maybe it is ‘years and years of oppression by the patriarchy’ as many would claim. Maybe it’s because a lot of us don’t venture into areas that society has stereotyped. Maybe it’s because we like to stick with the ‘status quo’ (yes, that is a High School Musical quote).

I am tired of everyday sexism. I acknowledge that I do it, too. I wish I didn’t but it’s another thing I’m working at.

tumblr_nopra3assk1uvawgpo2_500

Leave a Reply

