Songs that Remind Me of Something

day 3

I thought I’d tell the story behind each song.

I have a strong affinity for music and I place songs very easily, just a few bars of the opening is enough for me to get it right. I like to play that game in the car, or send my brother snippets of melodies and make him guess what the title is. When I play this game with my mother, she can hardly ever get it right. 😂 So far, it’s only ‘Eye of the Tiger’.

It’s no surprise that a lot of these songs have to do with my family and growing up. My dad had this amazing collection of CDs that my brother and I would play on repeat when we were kids. If you were to check my Spotify ‘Saved’ list, you’d see a strange combination of songs from different eras and very diverse genres.

I could have listed a lot more but I thought I would stop at 17 or this list would never end. Each track has been linked to a YouTube video, just in case you wanted to hear what each song sounds like.

No.1 reminds me of Lydia Bennet from The Lizzie Bennet Diaries (that web series that I was obsessed with in 2013? I even made a poster that’s actually done quite well in terms of sales, haha). Look up the lyrics, if you’d like. They reflect her point of view in her relationship with George Wickham quite succinctly. Or any relationship that ends badly where you are so wrapped up around the other person. And yes, I was that attached to Lydia that this song still sticks with me.

No. 2 reminds me of my little cousin, Frida Ashley who told me ‘shhh. it’s my song’ when I tried to sing along with her two Christmases ago. Has she ‘let Frozen go’ yet? Hell no.

No. 3 is my favourite BeeGees song that serves as a constant reminder to me that only one of them is alive right now, and he better not die before I get to shake his hand, and thank him for bringing so much joy to my life. Yes, I’m a weird fangirl.

No. 4 reminds me very clearly of the version Adam Lambert did on American Idol. I’m a Glambert through and through, but that’s not the main reason I decided to include this. It was something Smokey Robinson said in that ‘pre-performance’ clip with Adam when asked what inspired the song: “I thought about what if a person cried so much, until if you got really close up to their face, you could see that their tears had left tracks in their face”. As obvious as that is, if you take the song literally, just thinking about that sort of emotion, that concept! It was mindblowing, it was beautiful to me.

No. 5 reminds me of a certain someone (😘) that people used to call my ‘conjoined twin’ because we used to go around together all the time. It reminds me of a time when things were blissfully simple in comparison to now, yet we all felt like the weight of the world was on our shoulders. This song used to crack her up, so I think about her every single time I hear it.

The next one was something I used to sing to myself softly when I was going through a terrible time a few years ago. The lyrics are so poignant, and so moving. It’s pretty ‘healing’ just whispering the words.

No. 7 is that classic BSB song that I can identify by year of release (1999 FYI) because one of our annual school concerts involved the boys from my class dancing along to that while dressed up as toy soldiers. It’s something I won’t forget because the choreography was really cool.

I think we can guess that lucky 8 is because I fell in love with Glee a long time before it came to Malaysia. I still stand by the idea that I was one of the first few ‘international’ fans. I caught the ‘leaked pilot’ before pilot season that year because it somehow ended up on YouTube and remember thinking that this was going to a great show. And it was..before it got too big for itself. But I did watch the whole of the last season because Rachel Berry is still my girl, no matter what rubbish she went through.

No.’s 9 and 16 are songs that remind me of my dad. My dad can never remember who sang Temple of the King, no matter how many times I remind him. Papa Was Rolling Stone has this really long intro, if you’ve never listened to it, and I remember listening to it on the radio for the first time and asking my dad if it was purely instrumental. It’s one of my fonder memories of being young.

It Must Have Been Love is the ultimate love ballad that I used to replay from one of my dad’s old CD’s. This is 5 year old me, with barely any knowledge of what ‘liking’ a boy felt like. I still know all the words.

No. 11 is a song my brother and I would play randomly, and it gives me goosebumps. This song is just incredible..the whole Lion King OST is incredible, but this song! damn.

12 and 17 are my mom’s songs. The first is one her late cousin used to play on his guitar when they were kids. She told me a long time ago, about how the lyrics truly reflected his life (his daughter’s name is Michelle, and he was the ‘black sheep’ of the family). Listening to it makes her tear up. ‘Tomorrow’ is the song my mom loves to sing but gets the last note so wrong it makes me wince openly. I kid you not, it has been so many years but she can never nail the last ‘away’, and it’s not even a ‘high note’.

13 is my favourite Beatles song because I used to put that on repeat before I knew The Beatles was a group. I know Chris Colfer did a heartbreaking rendition of it on Glee in Season 1, but I still prefer the original ‘peppy’ version.

14 and 15 are songs my brother and I sing along to shamelessly in the car. 14 is definitely one of the few Malay songs I listen to, but it’s such a good ‘old school’ song that you have to love it, if you grew up in the country. 15 was featured in ‘Evolution’ (yes, that movie that David Duchovny did with Julianne Moore ages ago) and I fell in love with it ever since.

So yes, here’s the lengthy essay about these songs. I really did expect to write this many words. 😂

p.s. the scribbles are intentional, in case you didn’t get it. But I’m sure you did, cause you’re awesome.

This has been part of the #paperlovestory30days meme created by Amanda from PaperLoveStory

2 thoughts on “Songs that Remind Me of Something

Leave a Reply

