Weekly Round-up #10

I know, I know, I missed last week. I don’t quite have a great excuse but I had a presentation last Tuesday that I needed to focus on, so that’s that. Nothing much happened but I was able to go back for the weekend for the last weekend. That was nice. I’ll be going home during the one-week study-leave, so I’m glad. I get very antsy and frustrated cooped up in my room with no classes. At least when I’m home, I can hug my doggies. And I get my parents around.

Anyway, here are the FUN things from this week and the last:

This conversation I had with one of my favourite people, Melanie ‘Macaroni’:Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 10.03.42 PM

The brain shrinks with stress? No wonder I’m still dumb

This neat mash-up of Michael Jackson and The Weeknd by Casey Abrams. You may recognise him from this American Idol days.  Also, SoulPancake is great, you should subscribe.

Also from SoulPancake, Highly Evolved Human: such a beautiful and funny series about looking at cancer.

Here’s a useful extension for when you want to get a sensible spell-check/grammar check: Grammarly.

Are we thinking about addiction all wrong? I saw this video and it makes a lot of sense. It’s probably why rehabilitation into society is so important.

I have fallen head over heels with HAMILTON the musical by the brilliant Lin-Manuel Miranda. I am not American, I have basic knowledge of American presidential knowledge. You should hear him talk about it, and how race-blind casting was central to the way this musical plays out. It is moving, it is beautiful. It is HIP HOP and American presidential history. You would think it wouldn’t work, but it is so perfect.

AND the best part is that the OST is already out both on YouTube (uploaded by Lin himself) and Spotify. It has been a while since I’ve been obsessed with a musical, so this is right up my alley right now. I kid you not, just listen to it.

Here are a bunch of links I think would be handy to watch:

Hamilton on Broadway ‘trailer’

Lin-Manuel talking about Hamilton

Ham4Ham with the King George’s as the Schuyler Sisters (“I’m a trust fund baby, you can trust me.” That line is just brilliant)

The Cosmopolitan Mag photoshoot with the cast

Speaking of musicals, did you know LES MIS is coming to Singapore? Guess who’s buying her tickets tomorrow. 😜 Now the contemplation whether or not to watch The King and I.

Leave a Reply

