Exciting News

I don’t normally post on week days but this was too good an opportunity to pass up.

As some of you may know, part of my final year of medical school (in 2016! THAT’S SO NEAR!) is to do an elective in any field that I prefer. You’d have to apply by yourself, and it has to be for 6 weeks. While there was some mumbo jumbo earlier this year because we were initially not going to have electives for some reason, and then we got our elective rotation back.. it was messy. I had nothing planned, unlikes so many of my friends. I didn’t think about it last year because we were told we were not getting electives.

So, when the announcement was made, there was this scrambling, trying to figure out where I could go, what I’d like to do, just a flurry of activity. The places I wanted to apply to either had their ‘due dates’ really soon, or required a bunch of tests that I wasn’t quite ready for. I wanted to go the US but you would have to sit for the USMLE Step 1 and 2 at the sites I was aiming for.

The opportunity to do an elective in one of the university’s Speciality Sites (in either Australia or Malaysia) was mentioned months back, so I basically set my heart on it. And when the time came to apply last week, I chose quite diversely, arranging my choices in the order of preference. The top on my list was Forensic Pathology, because that has always been my interest, ever since I was 16 years old.

The application for Speciality Sites was pretty tough because it was on ‘first come first serve’ basis. Applications opened at 1pm, so you had to take a look at the sites available during your rotation, make your choices, then submit a maximum of 5 choices (in order of preference) as soon as you are able to. I sent mine in at 1.06pm and crossed my fingers. I really wanted the forensic placement.

There are 6 rotations next year, and according to that list, there was only ONE opening for Forensic Pathology, and it was in MY rotation. I couldn’t help but feel like I was meant to apply for it. I mean, of all rotations for it to be available! And only ONE place, meaning it would be very competitive, assuming other people were interested (and I’m sure there were!).

The odds of me getting it were slim, but I was so hopeful.

We received an email this morning saying that we would be informed ‘very soon’ about which elective placements we got. And when the next one came a few minutes after, my heart leapt in my throat:

1 Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 8.33.16 PM

Yes, I am extremely happy! I had a tiny chance, and I GOT IT! 🙌🙌 It’s more motivation to study for the exam, so I can make it to next year 😊

So yes, that’s the whole ‘exciting news’. Yay me!

Leave a Reply

