and here’s what’s been going on

I think I owe you an explanation.

I realise that this blog has gone dormant for the past two weeks or so, and I feel the need to give a reason for that. I was sure that the last vlog was my penultimate one, and not the final one, but that weekend got away from me with so many things happening at the same time and last minute packing problems. Then, back to JB where my life has been eaten up by Obstetrics and Gynecology.

It’s a tough rotation, people. It’s a lot of work in a logbook that needs to be completed, long, tedious, trying, ‘absolutely straining on your feet’ ward rounds, and generally a lot of facts that need to be studied. I am tired, more so than usual, on the weekdays only to find that some weekends are not mine because we have weekend ‘on-call’ duties in the labour room from 9am to 5pm. Have I mentioned that there is no sitting in O&G? It’s a lot of standing around, staying out of the way but at the same time, circling like vultures because we all need to do vaginal examinations, deliveries, pap smears, and a whole lot of other procedures.

It’s all opportunistic, the survival of the cunning.

So, yes, between all of that, I am not capable of churning out anything for the blog. I am attempting to be ‘more hardworking’ this time round, so effective note taking is a thing, rewriting notes is a thing, studying the notes is a thing. I’m just working on being a better student. It’s not easy when you’re used to slacking, then crying before an exam. I discovered that ‘studyblr’s are a thing (basically a Tumblr blog that’s dedicated to ‘studying’) leading my Tumblr dashboard to be filled with pretty stationery, positive sayings, reminders to keep working hard, and excellent tips for being a better student.

I have managed to incorporate studying into my previously ‘fandom-only’ Tumblr experience. I think I deserve some credit for that, haha.

I am back home for a week, odd timing because Hari Raya a.k.a. Eid al-Fitr is this weekend and not last weekend. The rest of the country starts their break from Wednesday or Thursday of this week till the same day next week, but not my uni, we’re ‘ahead’, for some weird reason.

As usual, being back home does not mean I have time to myself. I’m back in charge of whatever household duties (or out-of-house bill payment/bank related nonsense) my parents can’t do due to their work schedule. A holiday isn’t quite holiday for me, which sucks. I am home nonetheless, which is nice. But at the same time, I cannot help but be a little miffed that there’s still work for me here. I wish there wasn’t.

That’s an awfully selfish statement, isn’t it?

I’m a pretty selfish person.

I am back in time to watch all the Comic Con (SDCC, that is) footage that’s been released (be it officially or ‘non-official footage’) which is nice. I think most of the planet is pretty excited by most of the trailers that have been released. Have you seen the X-Men one? 😍

Anyway, I hope you’re having a lovely day/night/whatever time of day it is for you. I hope to be able to blog/vlog sometime this week. x

Leave a Reply

