that one song from The Rocky Horror Picture Show

hug
hug 2
source

Once in the library when I was 14 years old, my best friend passed a paper to me with the words “What do you think of PDA?” written on it. I wrote back, “what’s PDA?”.

Yes, I was pretty unaware that public displays of affection was a thing. While I have no experience in the romantic sort of PDA, I am undoubtedly a huge proprieter of PDA in my own life that is PHYSICAL displays of affection. I love hugging people, I would hold your hand if it were appropriate. I’d loop my arm through yours while we walked if you allow me to. I’m pretty physically affectionate with people I care about, as long as they’re comfortable with it. If someone clearly does not enjoy hugging or even high fives, I won’t do it. But in general, it’s something I like to do. I think I have only ever had two friends, not even best friends really, who were comfortable enough to do the same.

I know a lot of people frown on PDA, either versions of that acronym. And sure, I get it, if someone is macking on their boyfriend or girlfriend in public, it can cross the line to ‘inappropriate’. I know people who don’t hug on the regular and any physical form of feelings that involve human touch is foreign to them. While they are definitely allowed to feel what they like, I can’t help but think they’re missing out on something. There’s a difference between saying ‘I miss you’ and hugging someone and saying ‘I miss you’. For me at least, there’s a comfort in feeling someone’s arms around yours. It doesn’t even have to remotely be romantic for it to be a good thing. It’s scientifically proven that hugging releases serotonin and endorphines. Maybe I’m trying to chase that high, but it’s a good high, rarely destructive.

Where do you stand on the PDA front? Are you for it or against it?

One thought on “that one song from The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Leave a Reply

