GIRLS

FYI: This is not a PSA screaming YOU MUST WATCH THIS SHOW. It’s just something that struck me and I thought I’d write about it.

Is it weird that the older I get, the more appreciative I am of the HBO show GIRLS? If you have not heard of it, you’re probably not as ‘into’ TV shows or media as I am, because it first premiered a few years ago. It’s definitely not new, and it’s in it’s 4th season.

Lots of things have been said about GIRLS along the years; some good, some bad. Lena Dunham recently (well, last year really) got a lot of flack for what she wrote in her autobiography “Not That Kind of Girl” (you can look that drama up, if you want to, I won’t go into it). While I can agree that that particular book was not my cup of tea, I can also agree that GIRLS is a pretty decent TV show.

No, they are not role models.

No, they are not always funny.

Yes, the cast is made up of ‘privileged white women’, and the storyline can be called ‘self-indulgent’.

But that’s the whole point isn’t it? The show revolves around four young women (hence the title card) and their choices in their early-to-mid twenties. They are screwed up, they make every mistake you can think of: they break up, they hook up, they run away from their problems, they self-destruct.

As much as we’d like to deny it, that is the reality of what being in your twenties is like. Sure, if you’re from my background, the likelihood that you’ve done half of what these characters do is pretty slim to none. But the number of times I have done something similar to what Hannah, Marnie, Shoshanna and Jessa have, or been tempted to do what they’ve done… it’s no surprise I can relate to it. I have friends/ I have had friends who have similarities to these people. It’s not a far-fetched idea. Lena Dunham may be wacky, but her material can hit close to home.

I used to think this show was ridiculous and ‘not real’, but on closer inspection..if you really break it down, it’s about four girls who are trying their best. The stories can be crude, it is on HBO for a reason. But their stories are human. Their choices are almost never good for them, but it’s often what they think if good for them at that moment in time. They fail, they repeat their old mistakes, they try to pick up the pieces. Sometimes, things are just too broken and everything falls apart. But they try.

I can appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

