Sunday blues

I spent the weekend back in Kota Kinabalu (After 21 years. I think the last time I was there, it was in transit to Tawau. I was born in KK and lived there for the first year of my life. I have no memory of it) for my Lola’s birthday and it was good.

I was the oldest cousin to be present in my mom’s nuclear family: sure, I had cousins from the extended side but I was the oldest of the four of us who were there. As usual, I was on part-babysitter duty, but I didn’t mind, especially since the kids have grown up significantly.

It was good to be with family, family that wanted you there. They gave me space to do my reading for class, and surprisingly didn’t make me feel too bad about it. I did spend time with them, don’t get me wrong. I finally stepped in sea water for the first time in my life, brief though it was.

It was good but we all have to return to reality. I came back home to palpable tensions because of some petty thing my dad was upset about. For the first time, he didn’t send me to the airport. I’ll admit, that stung, a heck of a lot. I flew off back to Johor Bahru, where I am right now, on Sunday night to find myself missing a book and accidentally breaking my fan’s plug. I managed to get that fix today, and my mom is sending the book via express post, but yesterday I was on the verge of tears.

I know, I know, I was being ridiculous but it did feel bad. Being back in class today was alright, thankfully. I am pretty glad I got to clerk a patient properly and get a few things signed. It was good feeling.

I have tomorrow morning free, so to speak, so I’m going to get some reading done. I hope that my mind can reset itself back into the groove of things. Have a good week ahead, lovelies. x

Leave a Reply

