5 things so far

mintI know 2015 is barely in it’s second week, just nine days in and I’ve already learned certain things that I must keep in mind. So, for today’s Five Friday, here are five things I’ve already gained in 2015.

1. Offline time is time well spent.

I have taken more time, as promised, to read things and to be less connected (naturally, that’s not easy but I am definitely spending less hours online), and it has improved my mood actually. I am thankful for a queue on Tumblr, and the fact that I can schedule posts here. As long as I am able to prewrite things, it’s a far more comfortable situation.

2. People are human.

That statement seems a bit ridiculous but I have learned this past week that all of us are quite similar in some ways, especially when it comes to things we hold close to our hearts. While you may think you know someone, there are always layers to uncover.

3. Not everything is personal.

In relation to the second point, I need to take a step back and not to take everything personally, especially not to read too much into things. Not everyone’s behaviour has to do with me and I need to remember to keep things in perspective. Sometimes, taking a few paces away will help to clear the mind.

4. Keeping in touch is important.

One of the things I did this week was to finally write a reply to a penpal I have in the US. We decided to write letters instead of emails or using Whatsapp because we’re fans of getting handwritten mail. That proved to be very tough for me to keep up with last year and so, when I finally got round to writing her one in reply to her last letter, I realised how much of her life I must have missed by this point. Naturally, there was a lot of apologising and promises that I would be more prompt in sending my notes back. I intend to keep that promise.

5. Nothing feels as good as saving.

I have not spent any money on lunch or breakfast for the past 5 days and it feel AMAZING to know that my money is still safe in the bank/my wallet. i know, it’s silly but cooking my own meals is very satisfying. Hopefully this translates into my life in JB, but we’ll have to see about that.

Leave a Reply

