2014 in review, with a little help from WP

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 3,800 times in 2014. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 3 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

Now there, you can see how well this little bit of my world has been doing all year.

2014, oh what a year. I wish I could say it was all good, but I think it is enough to say, it was more good than not good. Does that make sense to you?

2014 is the year I discovered blogging could be taken to a more serious level. Sure, I have read blogs before but not quite as much as I have in 2014. I think I have followed more YouTube channels (be it vloggers or adaptations) and bloggers this year, taken to writing and photography for this blog, I have actually planned out what I’d like to write about and bothered to schedule things sometimes. Sure, life got in the way a few times but if you look at my ‘WordPress report’, it’s been shockingly consistent towards the end, something I’m rather proud of. Will there be more consistency in 2015? I hope so. I think I may lay out what my plans are for 2015, personal and for this blog tomorrow, so you read about that then. I hope to be better at this ‘blogging thing’, I strive to be. It’s silly that I feel like I owe it to the people reading but selfishly, I’d like to keep my ‘viewership’ because I like sharing my thoughts, and I like being read, if that makes it understandable. I am vain creature, I admit that but I do hope that this vanity is also a source of amusement and contemplation for you, dear reader.

All in all, 2014 was the year I moved away, stood up on my feet, discovered I am a complete monster when it comes to interpersonal relationships. I have fallen for the easy mistake of spending too much, I have learned to mend bridges that often have been torn down by my own self. I have gotten a hair cut that sometimes still freaks me out a bit. I have learned to drive more than ever before. I have inserted fingers into rectums, I have removed and placed tubes into people, I have handled blood specimens, I have been surrounded by disease and I have managed to acquire enough knowledge for me to move on to my fourth year in medical school.

2014 has been the year I watched 3 different musicals. I have flown on airplane numerous times. I went to the Philippines. I have learned to be more comfortable in front of a camera and talking to ‘strangers’. I have made baby steps in improving my self esteem.

2014 has been a good year. I have cried but I have also laughed. I have failed but I have also gotten good praise. I have been a bitch but I have also been a reasonably good friend. I have definitely taken more photos and blogged more than ever before. I have learned to prioritise my learning when I need to. I have been able to be there for the people I care about.

I am thankful that I am making it into a brand new year. I am thankful for everything and everyone who has been a part of my 2014. I hope I have not bitterly disappointed any of you or left things in a bad way between us, I do apologise if I have. May 2015 be a good year for all of us. I am truly grateful for all of you reading this. It means the world to me. xx

Leave a Reply

