Serial

alibi

I enjoy watching Bones, CSI, NCIS, Criminal Minds, Sherlock Holmes-related shows. I like murder mysteries or mysteries in general. It’s one thing to watch or read something fictional, it’s another to watch or read, or in this case listen, to a real case and hear the real voices of people.

SERIAL, the podcast that a lot of people are talking about is actually pretty interesting. I am way behind the world right now, but I am glad I finally decided to click PLAY.

Serial is about the murder of Hae Min Lee and the imprisonment of her high-school boyfriend, Adnan Syed accused and convicted for her death. The podcast ran over 12 weeks and has reached it’s conclusion but I just started it yesterday. The first episode is an hour long and you can just close your eyes and listen to it. It reminds me of listening to dramas on BBC Radio.

If you’re up for it, here’s a link to the “show’. I promise you, it can give you goosebumps because this is a real story, this is a real case, this is a real reporter talking about her work following up this case. It’s just.. ugh. I can’t explain it. I listened to three episodes back to back and then found myself having trouble sleeping because it gave me chills realising that the people in the thing were real people, not just characters on a procedural drama on TV. Again, I can’t explain the feeling.

I think it’s to do with the fact that I could never imagine killing a person. If you follow me on Twitter, you’d know that I killed a rat today. It was horrible. I actually teared up while pouring the boiling hot water on it, it was cruel and chilling but I had to do it. I don’t think I could muster murdering a person. It’s easy to say but goodness, it must take a lot of ‘guts’ or ‘heartlessness’ to do it. I don’t think I ever could, unless it was in self defense or something.

This show makes you think.  Just listen to the first episode and tell me what you think. xx

Leave a Reply

