In which I read A LOT into a haircut

There’s this part from Legally Blonde the Musical where Paulette tells Elle that ‘all bad hair decisions’ are caused by ‘love’. Technically, a broken heart, a busted ego, a desperate need for change.

I went to the hair salon alone today. I sat in the chair, I told the hairdresser that I needed a change and I wanted my hair chopped to about my shoulders. He asked if I wanted to be able to tie it. For the first time in years, I said ‘no’. So, he went short. The last time my hair was this short I was 12. Ten years ago, I had a haircut similar to this.

How does my hair look like now. It come right under my ears, or so. Like Dora the Explorer or the visual I’d rather you have, Velma from Chicago. It’s short. I have not done this in years. I really needed to do something crazy, especially after last night.

2

1

“Tired of long hair, huh?”

I thought long and hard at that. Was I tired of long hair? Not really. I liked my hair. I could do braids and buns and twist it to different shapes. But lately, it felt like I did inside: tired, limp and in desperate need of renewal.

“Kinda”

“Now this looks better. This one looks cute.”

I took time out today for me to do what I wanted to do instead of being stuck in the house doing my duty as a daughter. I was tired of cleaning and cooking and doing everything I was suppose to do. I was resentful, I was angry and I needed a way to get rid of it. It was a bit exhilarating feeling all that weight being chopped off. My head literally feels lighter. I feel older with this hair. Shorter hair= empowerment? I don’t know if that’s all in my head but I feel better with this. Unfortunately, I don’t have the skill to actually give myself the best blowout everyday, so this perfect bob will last me till the next time I decide to wash my hair. oh well.

I needed to do it. And I’m glad I did.

 

One thought on “In which I read A LOT into a haircut

Leave a Reply

