Five Things for Thanksgiving

5

Hello my lovelies!
I know I’m not American but it IS Thanksgiving, so I am jumping on the bandwagon this Five Friday and going to list 5 things I’m grateful for. I won’t list the usual ‘my family’, ‘my friends’, though of course, those bring me so much joy; I thought I shall list 5 things that I may not have written about before.

1. Tumblr.
I love and hate this site. I joined Tumblr a few years ago after Macaroni told me about it and I’ve been hooked ever since. As a result my grades suffered for a while (and now still!) but once I got over going a bit cray cray with it, I have used it productively (so to speak). Tumblr has helped me, both socially and creatively. I discovered Photoshop and I have been able to exercise my creative muscles, I have made amazing beautiful souls that I consider dear friends. Thank God for David Karp, thank God for Tumblr. It has been a support through rough times as well as a terrible distraction.

2. Losing my license.
This time last year I was going for classes to refresh my memory on how to drive a manual car. I was crying and crying a few months before that because I forgot to change it from P to C. The whole experience has forced me to actually LEARN how to drive a car. My tutor was so confident in my skills he took long detours on the way back just so I can get used to traffic. I failed my exam twice (careless mistakes!) and that has helped me to become more responsible, to become more patient, and to realise shit happens for good reason.

3. Moving to JB

I have probably mentioned this before but I am grateful I made it to Year 3 and was forced to move out. I am glad that I was forced to have new experiences, I am glad I have had to deal with housemates and finding a good balance. I am glad I had a supportive group of friends in a new place.

4. Every musical I have seen so far.

If you had told me 5 years ago that I would have watched Wicked, The Phantom of the Opera, Jersey Boys, Grease and My Fair Lady, I’d have said you were crazy. But I have, and that’s an incredible thing. I love the stage and these performances, I am so blessed that I actually got to experience them. Not through a screen, not through a DVD or something, but seeing people LIVE. I am thankful.

5. My housemates in JB

I know I said I wasn’t going to write this but they deserve it. These two were a big help this year. I may have had my ups and downs but we’ve recovered quite well. I said it before but it needs to be said again: I would not have gotten through my finals without them. I SWEAR. These guys are the reason I survived Year 3 (so far! Results in December). Thank you God for my friends.

I hope you have a good turkey/tofurkey and are surrounded by people you love this Thanksgiving. If you’re like me, and you’re not actually celebrating, I hope you have a beautiful start to your weekend. I leave you with this awesomeness:

I have a terrible sense of humour.

 

Leave a Reply

