BACK :)

It has been incredibly long since I last posted anything, but I am back now, so rejoice.

excited

What has been going on in the last 20 days or so?

Exams: AKA the main reason I had to stop blogging. I had my finals on the 10th and 13th of November, so I had to whoop my butt brain into shape for that. Group discussions, going over to my friend’s apartment to practice physical examinations, a lot of past year papers. Just a hella lot of work. The announcement for supplementary papers was made yesterday and I didn’t get an email or a phone call, so that either means I’m a CLEAR PASS or a CLEAR FAIL. Let us hope I’m a 4th Year Med student in 2015. I must say that I owe a lot to my housemates for making me study hard towards the end. Having them to be accounted to was  extremely helpful. I swear by effective group-studying now. I tell you, it is very good when you need motivation.

And if I have not mentioned it before, PRAY for guidance and for intercession from St. Joseph of Cupertino. I’m not saying that you don’t have to study but, I am all for a great saint that’s in your corner.

Aaron getting dengue fever: If you don’t know what that is, here’s a not fantastic but useful video from Malaya University. It’s basically a viral fever spread by the Aedes aegypti (an amazing vector of disease really. Look it up) which can be quite severe. My brother got it and I have spent a lot of my week, well, my whole week so far monitoring him in case it evolves to the haemorrhagic stage. I actually took his blood, I drove around a lot, running to the lab, getting him necessary fluids. I’m glad to say that his platelets are up. I chalk that up partly to the horrible, vile, disgusting, horrid, every adjective possible papaya leaf juice that we forced him to drink. It is disgusting. I swear, it is. My housemate was kind enough to drop by and bring some leaves for us to grind. It’s a traditional medication thing that has researchers looking into that has helped. It boosted Aaron’s platelet count in less than 24 hours, so it’s worth a try.

My bestie got tonsillitis recently, and she’s in the hospital too. Poor thing had swollen lymph nodes (which I palpated because I’m cray cray that way) and couldn’t talk properly. It’s so unfair that she’s not getting an extension for her assignments although she’s LITERALLY bedridden. Ridiculous, I tell you.

Apart from that, I tried 2 recipes from the recipe book I bought a few weeks ago. The modified paella (it asked for scallops but who has the time to go to the market to look for fresh scallops when you’re in charge of the ‘dengue boy’. I used prawns) and the chicken salad went down well, I must say. I didn’t take photos of it because I was too focused on multitasking (Aaron, Michael Buble’s “2013 Christmas Concert”, cooking), but rest assured the recipes are solid.

Anyway, I hope that I will be able to come up with good content for the rest of the year. Now that supplementary papers has been announced, I can breathe easier and think clearly.  Here’s to a good break till 2015! 🙂

One thought on “BACK :)

Leave a Reply

