Five OTHER Careers

Untitled-1
I am a medical student. I will be a doctor in slightly over 2 years. But I had considered other options for my life prior to this. For this Five Friday, here are the 5 other paths I might have taken.

Egyptologist
I love Ancient Egypt. I was really keen on learning their culture, their language, their games, their gods. I still have bookmarked pages of the British National Museum’s exhibit of Ancient Egypt. I almost cried when there was an expo on Tuthankamun in Singapore that I missed. I love The Mummy (first and second movie) and I watched a lot of NGeo documentaries. This would have been my choice if it was viable.

Accountant
I was good at accounts. It’s a great subject. Straightforward, everything balances off! There isn’t much that is quite as satisfying as being able to tally the books at the end of the day. I would have done this if I didn’t love Biology more.

Biomedical Science-related
I may still get a degree in this as a postgrad work later on, perhaps. After A-levels, I was able to get a place in a really good UK university for this (thinking about it still bums me out) but due to financial constraints, I had to let it go. A-levels really showed me that I enjoyed research and lab work, the main reason I applied for this course. But it wasn’t meant to be, at that point in time anyway.

Psychologist
I enjoy seeing how people think. I like placing myself in other people’s shoes and figuring out their motivations for things. It’s interesting to observe behavior and ‘shrink’ people. I am usually the one person in my group who bothers about the psychosocial aspect of the disease, because it does cause a significant amount of impairment in people. Again, this is something I may do after med school.

Advertising-related
As I said in the last post, I’m a Mad Men addict. And I have found creating art as a good outlet, even if it’s not that great. I enjoy mass comm; I love hearing about one of my best friend’s classes for that reason. That period of time between Year 1 and Year 2, when I was going through a lot, mentally, I did look up doing this sort of work and the courses in Lim Kok Wing University. But again, external forces pushed and I didn’t switch to arts. Who knows, that may have been for a good reason.

What about you? Do you have any other career choices that you would have taken if life hadn’t brought you to where you are?

One thought on “Five OTHER Careers

Leave a Reply

