(insert theme song here)

Untitled-1

Survivor came out in the late 90’s and I used to watch it quite regularly. If you haven’t watched the show, it’s about well, surviving. A bunch of contestants, complete strangers are tossed to an island and divided to 2 (or more) tribes where they have to live off the land, compete for supplies and finally, vote each other off. Primitive methods but it makes for good TV (at least in the 90s).

I have a bunch of friends that I truly adore, some of which I have met in person and some of which are online acquaintances. But they all have one thing in common: they’re a freaking supportive bunch. Marie Forleo and Todd Herman spoke about the importance of building a tribe here, and I couldn’t agree more.

A tribe, much like the ones on Survivor are there to help you make it through the ‘trial’ which is life. You make alliances, you make pacts, you stick together, you cheer each other on. Unfortunately for a lot of us, we tend to fall back to the same attitudes we see on Survivor: the backstabbing, the mean comments. I won’t deny that I too, have behaved that way too.

But with experience comes maturity (in some ways) and I have learned to build my friends up instead of being petty and jealous. I love all my girls and wish them the best. But I don’t refrain from being harsh in circumstances that require it because sometimes, tough love is needed. I will cheer you on but I will also ask that you be realistic, not to bite off more than you can chew and to set realistic expectations.

I do hope we all have friendships that allow us to be ecstatic about the person’s success in life. They are your tribe: their success is your success, it should propel you further. Never let jealousy overwhelm you, it leads to bitterness and resentment.

Maxie McCoy writes about Why You Need a Tribe in her guest post on The College Prepster here. Take a read and start creating your own little support system.

Leave a Reply

