Day 2: Building a Morning Routine

morning

 

One thing I see a lot from listening to talks and reading my favourite blogs is that they have a morning routine.  Here is Carly’s (The College Prepster) morning routine and here are JennyPurr’s rulesMarie Forleo stated that highly productive people have 4 main habits which include having a strict morning routine. Clearly, there is a pattern here.

As with the theme of this week, I have been inspired to create my own new routine, one that I intend to follow for good long while. The main function of a morning routine is to allow yourself to prepare for the day ahead, time out for you to get in touch with your ‘inner self’. It doesn’t have to be elaborate, it doesn’t have to be fancy or similar to anyone else’s routine. It’s meant for you to revitalise your soul.

I thought I’d share with you what I came up with. My day typically starts at 5.45 to 6.15am, depending on whether I have classes in the morning.

1. Spend 3 minutes manifesting my goals. It’s a technique, similar to The Secret, where you concentrate on what you want in life. It’s usually specific goals like “getting 18/20 on the test” or “losing 10 pounds”. It involves truly focusing on the goals and completely, whole-heartedly, “any other verb that expresses the same intent” believing that you ARE that person, you CAN do it, you WILL get it.

2. 10 minutes of exercise. What I really enjoy about SparkPeople/SparkTeens is their 10 minute workouts. It can be cardio, it can be strength training, yoga, pilates.. they have short videos that are usually pretty easy to follow, or at least allows you to pace yourself. I find that if I try to do MAJOR exercise routines in the morning, I get overwhelmed or annoyed, so I end up not doing anything. 10 minutes is pretty short, so it’s a doable step. And 10 minutes every now and then adds up in the end. 🙂

3. Breakfast. DEFINITELY not skipping this again. I did stick to having breakfast quite often but I found myself slacking off at times. I really need to stick to a proper routine and have breakfast on a daily basis. It IS the most important meal of the day, so I must remember to fuel myself in the mornings.

4. Prayer. I have not kept a proper routine when it comes to prayer. Sure, prayer should be organic and not forced, but making sure I take time out in the morning TO pray, to spend some time in conversation with God will help improve my own spiritual life. I have found myself lacking in determination to stick to things and I believe it’s partly because I am not spiritually fed. It’s high time I return to my roots.

5. Go through my Bloglovin feed. By the time I wake up in the morning, most of the blogs I follow on Bloglovin’ would have updated at least one post, depending on the regularity of said blogs. I usually find reading their thoughts or looking at DIY projects or pretty pictures makes me feel more inspired. And I can do this while eating my cereal. 🙂

Here’s the video where Marie Forleo speaks about the 4 main habits that Really Productive People keep to. These habits are pretty simple and can be easily incorporated in your own life:

Do you have morning routine yourself? or do you want to start one? Leave comment below or talk to me on Twitter. 🙂 Have a good day/evening, lovelies!

Leave a Reply

