Five Friends

friends

 

I have had many friends walk in and out of my life in my 22 years on this planet. I have such dear ones I treasure so much right now, and those whom I left behind. For this Five Friday, I’m talking about the 5 friends that may not be a part of my life at the moment, but have left their mark in it.

1. Christy

My first best friend when I entered primary school. She and I were thick as thieves. We did everything together, we started clubs together, we fought and made up as little kids do. When I moved away, I lost her because friendships were fragile those days. I didn’t know better and I was frankly, pretty stubborn and stuck-up. She was the friend that taught me to let go of my past. I thank her for this.

2. Jasmine

She looked up to me and I considered her my little sister. I spent a lot of time with her, I was 3 years older so I reveled in being adored. She was the friend who taught me to be humble. I mistreated her at my birthday party and learned a cold, hard lesson in knowing when enough is enough. I worked hard to win her back and she was so kind as to let me. Again, I moved away and as time passed, we lost touch. But she has made a gigantic impact in my life. I will never forget her.

3. Nadia

I knew her for two years when I lived in Johor. She wasn’t my first friend but she became one of my closest. She was the only one who cared enough to try to keep in touch with me when I moved back to Selangor but I let that go to waste. I gossiped about her behind her back and word got round to her, and after an earful on the phone, I lost Nadia too. I regret my actions, even almost ten years later. She was better than I was back then. She was the true friend I wasn’t. I learned that the hard way.

4. Melanie (*not Macaroni,  this is the friend I lost a while back)

My first ‘big sister’ in the online world. I first ‘met’ her when I was 12 and she was the brightest, kindest soul I have ever met. We were part of an online Catholic teens group and she was ever willing to give advice, support and prayers when needed. She was smart, she was gifted and unknown to a lot of us, she was suffering. She had a congenital disease (i can’t quite remember which one it was) that she lost her sister to, and she was dying of it too. She passed away on the 8th of November 2012. I will never forget that day. I cried so much, we all did. I strive to be more like Melanie every day. She was truly one of the best human beings I have ever known.

5. Esther

I had a love-hate relationship with her for a long time. I don’t mean that in the strictest sense: she was tough, she was controlling, she was abrasive. But that’s what she put up to protect herself. I may have resented her for a while but I got to know her so much better after the first 3 years. She has a big heart and she fights for what she wants and believes in. I learned to not be so judgmental from her, and I learned to be patient. I learned to be passionate and I learned to see beyond the illusion we all intricately carve, so that we may be perceived a different way. I may not talk to her as often nowadays but I admire the heck out of this girl.

I’m sure a lot of you are acquainted with the lyrics from Wicked, when Glinda and Elphaba say goodbye to each other? I truly feel like those words resonate deeply for me, especially with regards to my time with these girls.

So much of me, is made from what I’ve learned from you.

You’ll be with me, like handprint on my heart.

And now whatever way our stories end,

you know you have rewritten mine, by being my friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

