down memory lane

mistakes

After a few serious posts, I thought this Five Friday should be a fun one, just to lighten to mood. The easiest topic to use: Crushes.

Those butterflies, those terrible moments when you hate yourself because you like someone? Yeah.. let’s all mentally cringe and go through my little list here.

1.  The baby crush: YY

This is the one you get as a kid. You like him (or her) but you don’t get the whole ‘liking’ business. You don’t quite understand it but you think that kid is cool, you wanna hang with this kid, and.. you may or may not have based your crush on the Little Rascals movie.

YY was my first crush, or at least the first ‘real’ boy I liked when I was 7 years old. It’s silly but I did like YY. We used to play our own version of Battleship, we would talk about classes, we used to play games during recess. I don’t really know if it was a crush or just me realising that boys can be friends with girls. I was a kid, come on. Then I moved away and that was that. I have never seen him again.

2. The fleeting crush

This is probably a crush you have one someone you have never spoken to or had minimal conversation with, the superficial one that depends mostly on how physically attracted you are to that person. I can’t even name names here because frankly, these ones are the most pointless ones because they’re over really quickly.
That cute person in the library? This is it. That barista who got your name right? Yup, this one. Maybe they smiled at you, flirted in passing. In a way, it’s a boost to your ego.

3.  The ‘I liked you but then I changed my mind’ crush: DTL

This one is difficult. You like the person at first then you get to know him/her and you change your mind. Something about them just rubs you the wrong way in the end. You thought it was something.. only to find that in reality, he’s not what you thought he was.

I had this crush on DTL for a few years, starting from when I was 13. I liked him, as in, REALLY liked him. And after a while, he liked me back. And then.. I stopped. He wasn’t what I pictured him to be. I regret those months of liking him and conversations spent discussing his every word to me. He wasn’t an awful human being but he wasn’t ‘right’, you know?

4. The ‘I want to be you’ crush: JN

Goodness, this one is not exactly a crush. You like this person because you kinda wanna be them. You think they’re amazing: good personality, great smile, good heart, physically attractive. They’re what YOU want to be. It can be on the same sex, or the opposite sex. Being around this person makes you want to be a better human being. You may not necessarily want to get into a relationship with said person, but you damn well wish you could embody their every virtue.

I willingly admit to liking this guy because he is awesome. Everyone likes him: he’s literally the top of the class, in a stable relationship, is SO FREAKING NICE to everyone, a supportive friend, extremely patient. I want to be him. He’s just the best person I know.

You know, the sort of person who just radiates ‘awesomeness’? He’s it.

5. The inappropriate on every level crush: That one tutor.

This is the crush you mentally kick yourself for having. YOU KNOW, there is no hope. YOU KNOW, you should NEVER go there. But you end up liking the person anyway. It can your best friend’s boyfriend, that friend you know is already taken.. or if you’re me, a teacher. It is THE WORST.

I had a big crush on a teacher once, and I cringe when I think about it now. Heck, I cringed when I thought about it then. It’s always bad, liking a teacher, no matter what Pretty Little Liars tells you. It does not work, it SHOULD NOT work. I bury my head in shame remembering this. It doesn’t matter how much he reminds you of Sherlock from the BBC adaptation, you do not go there. If I could smack my younger self, I completely would.

 

Ever had anything similar to my list? Do share! Don’t leave me alone frowning at the memory of most of these.

2 thoughts on “down memory lane

  1. -sigh- -facepalm- -grooooooooans-

    remember that time? the thing between about my lecturer? I heard he is getting married soon. *weak laugh*

    oh gosh, so much “i feel you” moments in this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

