5 YouTube Shows

utube

I watch a lot of shows and this does not exclude webseries. I’m sure a bunch of you are familiar with these by now but for those of you who are not, WELCOME to the world of YouTube Adaptations and another Five Friday.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Definitely one of the most popular ones. It won an Emmy last year. Yes, AN EMMY. If you’re unfamiliar with the name, TheLBD is a modern take on Pride and Prejudice, one of the most popular love stories ever told. There are minor changes to the characters in this one but it really works. I was ‘around’ when the whole production was being done ‘LIVE’, so I really got into the fandom craze with this. I made gifs, I made graphics, I even made a poster you can actually buy! Definitely a must watch if you’re a fan of the book. Ashley Clements (Lizzie) and Mary Kate Wiles (Lydia) were amazing as the 2 leads in this production (Lydia has her own YouTube channel). I remember actually crying over their performances. Ashley won a Streamy award this year for Best Actress in a Drama! I definitely recommend this show. SERIOUSLY.

Emma Approved

From the same team that made TheLBD, Emma Approved is based on Emma, my favourite Austen novel. I must say, this one took some time to warm up to and there were a number of continuity issues (real world vs ‘web series’ world) that the original fans from the previous work had trouble adjusting to. But if you close your eyes to the problems, it was pretty good. The main characters Emma Woodhouse (Joanna Sotomura) and Alex Knightley (Brent Bailey) are the main reason this adaptation is pretty good. Their chemistry is amazing and of course, it helps that they’re dating in real life.

Nothing Much to Do

Fan of Shakespeare? Meet the wonder that is this great team from New Zealand. Nothing Much to Do is based on the comedy (you guessed it) Much Ado About Nothing. I did not start watching this when it first came out but after a recommendation from Helen, I had to try it. And I cannot express how good the acting is. I may even prefer this above The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. The cast is young, the take on Shakespeare is beautifully done and they are so talented. I SWEAR. Not a bad actor on the cast. They’re all very convincing and you actually think you’re watching a vlog and not a show. It’s still running right now, we’re at the last bits of the play. Start watching it (all at once, because that’s how it’s done) and catch up with the unveiling of the end!

Autobiography of Jane

Jane Eyre is definitely one of those classic books that I love. I remember hating Rochestor when I read it because frankly, he’s a tool and loving the way Jane fought for who she was as a person. This version was alright. It started off very promising but it tanked a bit in the middle, in my opinion, because they rushed the relationship between Mr. R and Jane but it improved vastly towards the end. AoJE’s ending was nice, a good take on the original and though it was tweaked because of production problems, I loved the ending. If you’re familiar with the book or want to get familiar with it, this one’s not bad.

Jules and Monty

Romeo and Juliet done in modern times but with the classic text. I really didn’t expect to like it but I did. I watch Jules and Monty on a whim but I found the take on Shakespeare cleverly done. It’s set in a college/university where rivalry is a real problem. The transition between modern words and the original Shakespearean ones were not stilted but flowed very well. It’s completed now, but I still think you should watch it.

PLUS ONE!

Classic Alice

This is a cheat. It’s not an actual adaptation of classic books, but it’s a show about Alice, who decides to live out her life like a storybook. It’s still going on, so it’s fun to follow. And it’s a nice premise. You don’t really know where things are going in this show because it’s not solely based on any particular story, which makes it unique and refreshing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

