places barrel into mouth

self

 

Gah. I have such drama in a tiny group of 5 people, you’d think we were a soap opera. I am just so fed up with the rubbish that’s going on. I need to vent, so here we go:

I have this group member, who’s nickname is Lyn. I’m not even going to change her name for the sake of convenience. Lyn and I were never great friends in Year 1 and 2 but I always considered her drama free. And I guess at the core of it all, she is drama free. I have 2 other guys in my group: my housemate (our group leader) and another guy who’s known to be a bit .. dramatic. As you have read from my previous rants about my housemate, he’s pretty dramatic too. I don’t mind them so much, I like them. Sure, too much bitchy comments just make me want to keel over and die sometimes but in general, I get along well with them.

But the combination of these 2 guys and Lyn has turned our little subgroup into a warzone. Lyn is quite straight-laced. There’s venom underneath that surface of smiles but she only keeps it for when she’s really hurt or bitter. Venom flows through the blood of the other 2, so their comments can be pretty cutting. Lyn is not the type to fight back to comments of her own or to take teasing well; she doesn’t defend herself well. I do. If I get mad, the claws come out, which is why they called me a Vileplume: I can sting.

Here’s one of the previous dramatic moments we’ve had a few months ago. This is me attempting to patch things up:

Screen Shot 2014-09-12 at 8.28.24 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-12 at 8.28.40 PM

 

Today, all hell broke loose. You see, Lyn doesn’t have the right sort of Internet that allows her to keep updated with Whatsapp. We use Whatsapp as a group to discuss stuff, and today, it was the change in the timing for today’s Pathology class. It was a last minute thing and we all forgot to inform her. Class was moved half an hour earlier. So at 2.30pm, when we realised she was missing, I called her only to find out that she wasn’t aware of it. She was in the building luckily and managed to come into class a few minutes late. Unfortunately, our new tutor addressed her as ‘The girl who came in last’, which clearly made her super emotional. She was very quiet through the whole class and when she apologised to our tutor at the end of class, she was close to tears. We didn’t see her after that, she made a rapid exit.

Here’s the thing though:

She was in uni the whole time. She has Wifi access there. She could have checked her messages. But she didn’t. She simply chose not to. We have to specifically text her or send her messages on Facebook to inform her of any changes. Believe me, when it comes to making decisions, it’s tiresome when you have to repeat a conversation to someone else. It’s tiring trying to take care of them. I have tried my best to be as accommodating as I can but sometimes things slip through the cracks.

My housemate sent her a text apologising for not telling her about it because he genuinely forgot. She replied a few hours later saying “Apology not accepted” along with statements saying ‘this isn’t the first time. I see that this group just doesn’t work.’ I can’t help but be annoyed. I get where she’s coming from, I do. but damn it, we cannot baby you. You need to grow a spine, shout at us or something. Figure out a way to make sure you’re in the loop. Being so relient on people is not a good look. People get tired. Even people who try oh-so-hard.

I don’t know how to fix this. It just ruined my day, it’ll affect my mind this whole weekend. I have no words. Gah. I have half a mind to see our group tutor to solve this. I am just so fed up.

 

Leave a Reply

