down time

kindred

You know the saying “A Friend in Need is a Friend Indeed”? If my understanding of it is not wrong, it’s basically about how friends that are there when you’re in trouble are you’re true friends. I do not debate this. I am all for the amazing friends I’ve had in the times when I needed a shoulder to cry on.

But little is said about friends who are there during the dull times. When you have no drama, no ridiculous love triangles or crushes, when you’re doing okay, just gliding from day to day. We always put pressure on friends saying that “You weren’t there when I needed you” but what about the times in between those? What about the little moments in between, when everything is generally normal? Do we forget to be a friend then?

I try to be a friend to my own at all times. I’m not saint, life gets busy and you’re not always able to keep up with everyone. But I like the friendships I have where we talk everyday. Or a few days a week. We don’t have to have drama to gab about, we just talk about normal things like traffic or the weather or the fact that we both woke up late on the same day. It doesn’t have to be a deep conversation about ‘our inner beings’. It can be about the random bug you saw on the street that made you laugh. It can be about how much homework you have. It can be about how boring your day has been. It can just be about a funny picture you saw that you wanted to share.

I may be speaking for a minority but I think that we all like having friends that check in once in a while, even if it’s just to talk about nothing. I love my friends who are there when I am breaking down, but I love those who are always there, even for the plateaus in life.

 

Leave a Reply

