#65

I think some of us forget how NOT to be sad.

We become so used to being stuck in a funk that we don’t know how to un-funk. Those sad songs that held us during all those long nights alone, stuck on repeat because they’ve been the only friends we have known.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love a good Bon Iver, Band of Horses, Ryan Adams, Death Cab for Cutie playlist as much as the next twentysomething. The kind where you feel transplanted into the middle of a drizzly Seattle day, sitting on a forest stump drinking espresso and wrestling with life’s hardest questions. What could be better?

But I think many of us artificially keep ourselves in a funk because we keep listening to the same sad songs over and over and over- literally and figuratively.

Sometimes you just need to thank Bon Iver for your time together, but it’s time for you to go. You need to buy a one-way ticket and fly toward some sunnier skies.

It’s time to change that playlist.

from 101 Secrets for Your Twenties, Paul Angone

It’s so important to remember that for me right now. I have been so impossibly stuck in this rut. I literally have sat around doing absolutely nothing but rewatching old episodes that I have rewatched a many times before. I got so stuck. Macaroni literally got so worried she spammed my Whatsapp, which is super thoughtful, thank you.

I just needed to get “un-stuck”. And that is not done easy when it comes to me. Baby steps. As always, baby steps.

Leave a Reply

