Aside

You know that thing I’m doing for Lent, the 40 notes/letters for 40 days? I finally wrote one to my dad and one to my mom. It’s silly that I put it off for that long, they should have been the first people I wrote to. But anyway, I wrote them a letter each and I thought I could share them on my blog:

To my dad:

Hello Daddy.

I just wanted to write this because I think it would be good for both of us to read it.
I wanted to say Thank You for sacrificing so much for me. It means so much that you’re still working at this age, that you’re willing to wake up so early in the morning to go to work, that you’ve done so much for the past 24 years for this family. Thank you for doing your best and supporting me. Thank you for giving up comfort so I can pursue my dreams. Thank you for always telling me that I’m your “number 1”, I used to laugh that off as a child but it means so much to me. Thank you for putting up with my temper and my harsh words. Thank you for buying me anything and everything I want and need, be it those Barbie dolls when I was a child or all my medical books, rent, Broadway musical tickets and other stuff now. I know you could have had an easier life, I know you could have chosen to take things easy but you didn’t, for my sake and for Aaron’s sake. I am so thankful for you. Not many fathers do what you do, been through what you have, dealt with all those annoying corporate people, just so you can provide for your family.
It means a LOT. a WHOLE lot. I love you so much and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I will study hard for you and for mom. You both inspire me every single day. I promise that I will make you proud.
I miss you guys, and see you this Sunday.
To my mom:

Dear Mummy,

I am writing this because for Lent, I’m writing a note/letter to every single person who has had a positive impact in my life/changed it for the better (in no particular order of course), so naturally, I should write one to you.
I wanted to say thank you. Thank you for being my mother. Thank you for giving birth to me especially when I wasn’t the easiest pregnancy. Thank you for choosing to stay at home and teach Aaron and I. I think I have such a solid foundation because of you. i owe it all to you. Thank you for being strict with me during primary school. Having you boss me around is the reason i got straight A’s in Std 5 and 6, and mostly through secondary school and beyond. Thank you for not giving up on me. Thank you for staying up to make sure I do my homework. Thank you for doing my art projects and for joining the PTA. Thank you for giving me my faith, faith that means the whole world to me. Thank you for always pushing me to perform and participate in things. I wouldn’t have done a lot of that if it weren’t for you. Thank you for bearing with my mood swings. Thank you for calling me out on my crap when I am in a bad mood. Thank you for bearing with Daddy’s temper for so long, when I know you could have walked out at any minute. Thank you for being the best example of motherhood and of being a wife.. of being a true Catholic and a gracious human being for me. There is a reason people think I’m a nice person; I chalk it up to watching you. Thank you so much for being the person I can talk to about anything and everything.
I miss you so much, I miss seeing you every single day. I love you and Daddy very much. I promise to make you proud of me, especially this year. I couldn’t be where I am now without both of you.
I love you and see you on Sunday,
Grace

Could you guess that half way through both, I started sobbing. I love my family so much, it’s ridiculous. No, it’s not. Everyone loves their family like crazy. I just never really wrote it down. My parents have worked so hard and so long for me, more than a lot of people have. I’m not saying that other parents don’t work hard, I’m just saying most families have been through the crap we’ve been through. If I were to go into detail about how much nonsense my mom and dad have put up with, I could have a Hallmark movie. They’ve each gone through so much, SO much. And they still are, to provide for me. It kills me on a daily basis because I know that at their age, they could have retired. They could be relaxing. But they’re not. And I want to show them that it’s worth it. That I am worth it.

Leave a Reply

