It was loverly

46/365

I went for My Fair Lady last night in Singapore with my family. We went down with Joyce because she was meeting her cousins and the causeway was surprisingly smooth. The only issue was our taxi driver had no idea where MBS was, which was highly alarming. Luckily we made it in time, had a rushed dinner and sprinted to the theatre with a few seconds before it officially started.

So, My Fair Lady is the first musical I truly fell in love with. I am pretty sure I loved this before Grease. POTO was something I was introduced to when I was 12 years, but My Fair Lady and I were acquainted when I was 9 or 10 years old. The version with Rex Harrison and Audrey Hepburn, of course. I loved that movie so much, we used to replay it a whole lot. Rex Harrison was charming but such a prick and Audrey Hepburn was gorgeous and dowdy (if that makes any sense) as Eliza Doolittle. It is unfortunate that I know it so well, almost by heart because last night’s production kinda fell short for me. Alfie Doolittle was stellar though, he shone truly, compared to the rest. I didn’t quite like Henry Higgins on stage probably because I was so familiar with Rex Harrison’s delivery. The Freddie Eynsford-Hill didn’t quite have the richness of Bill Shirley’s voice but he was so earnest, I liked him. The Eliza Doolittle in this production was Aurora Florence and her voice was glorious. I was surprised that the movie was so similar and true to the stage production, hence the slight disappointment.

But after being so excited for it for so long, I have no regrets about watching it. It was worth it.

47/365
47/465

Since my parents came down, I managed to get my postcard from Bianca. She’s such a sweetheart for sending me a NYC postcard FROM NYC. It’s the first thing I have from that state, my dream city and I positively love it. It’s actually stuck on my wall right now, to serve as motivation and a reminder that there are people out there who care about me. So, B, THANK YOU. I really love it.

2 thoughts on “It was loverly

Leave a Reply

