Snapshots from Manila: Day 2

AKA 32/365
We went to the Mall of Asia on Saturday, the 1st of February.

29

28

Let me just say that the malls in Manila are pretty alike to malls in Malaysia. There isn’t much difference between malls everywhere in the world really. Same shops, more or less.

But MoA has a particular store that sells stuff that’s strictly made in the Philippines, so we spent a good few hours there. I got a few postcards and small gifts too, I’ll snap a picture of those later.

I guess it translates into Filipino Culture
I guess it translates into Filipino Culture

39 3815 14 13 12 11 10 9 8 7

34
Postcards! I only got about 5 of them though.

35

 

My favourite thing about Filipino design is the usage of pineapple thread otherwise known as Piña. It’s a breathable material as a result. Their stitching work here is LOVELY. I took a bunch of pictures:

37 3631

32

 

up close details:

details

33 

The clothes tend to be quite formal and usually used for weddings and special occasions. My mom got one for my brother.

That's my mom's cousin, my second cousins, my uncle and my mom. Not in that order though.
That’s my mom’s cousin, my second cousins, my uncle and my mom. Not in that order though.

We ended up eating a bunch of things that day, some good, some not quite.

2
some special ice-y desert my mom was dying to eat. I forgot what it was called though.
3
these were fine but I was already so full from lunch that I barely enjoyed it.
5
What was written on the cup: “Hi Mam Evelyn. have a nice day”

4

and yup, that evening my mom and I went to Robinsons to do a little more shopping and got stuff for my dad and brother.

 

 

One thought on “Snapshots from Manila: Day 2

Leave a Reply

