keyboard smash

It’s been a month since I’ve last written here and I guess it’s mostly because I don’t know what to write anymore.

I was on the train the other day, coming back from a visit to the home my group was assigned to. It’s funny looking at people on the train at 3something pm on a Friday. Half of them are dozing off, some are simply staring out the window, a few chatting loudly while other, such as myself, people-watch.

I was a quiet observer for a forty minutes that Friday.

My friends 3 friends were asleep beside me. A guy and (i assume) his two siblings sat in front of me with another couple. The kids had fancier gadgets than I’ve ever owned and were listening to music. At one point, the younger boy started singing out loud only to get shushed by his older sister amidst the panicked looks she gave the other passengers in our compartment.

In the other car, I could see a guy in his late twenties or early thirties looking at the one I was in, only to turn away when he caught my eye. The boy and girl, perhaps a year younger than me, sitting beside him were talking very loudly about how secondary school life was different as compared to their current college one.

A man came aboard at one of the stops, looking around for a place to sit. I was tempted to point him to an empty seat to diagonally to my left but he turned and walked to the other end of the train. His loss.

I remember staring at the TV screens they have on these trains. Somehow they only played the dull advertisement with celebrities singing the 1Malaysia theme song, which was ironic because of last Sunday’s fallout. I noticed that a lot of the people on the train weren’t even locals; they were simple working-class folk who were here because they had families to feed or just wanted a better life. My paternal and maternal grandparents weren’t locals either, but here I am now.

Is this train ride an analogy for something? No, just an observation.

Leave a Reply

