go-go juice?

My brother says that I remind him of reality TV star “Honey Boo Boo”.

If you have no idea who she is, just type that into the SEARCH bar on YouTube and let her vivacious character explode in your face. When approached with this information a few months ago, I had no clue what a “Honey Boo Boo” was. So, I did my research and boy, was I shocked at what I found.

Alana “Honey Boo Boo” Thompson is one of the kids on Toddlers and Tiaras otherwise known as the TV show where parents dress their children up as dolls and let them compete in pageant shows. Alana is one of the loud, robust sort of girls who managed to snag her own spin off, whatever it’s called.

Now, my friend Melanie says I am nothing like Honey Boo Boo, which I guess is a blessing.

But let’s examine the facts:

That kid is a little crazy. If you’ve ever seen an interview with her or watched a segments of her show, you’d know what I’m talking about. She says whatever is in her head and has zero sense of propriety. She’s only seven (I think) so, give her a break. The producers are also partly responsible for the content shown to the public, so keep that in mind.

My brother says that I act like her or rather, she acts like me. I admit I see his point. You may not always see it but I am a little nuts too. I find the weirdest things funny and I make faces at myself in my dad’s rear view mirror. I know, I’m clearly not 20 years old. I make up my own words and I literally, dance around the house. My family can bear witness to my insanity. I may seem quite normal but I’m pretty “out there” when I’m at home.

Alana is very “sticky” with her pig, Glitzy (which I think she had to give away or something. Someone mentioned that in the comments one of her YouTube videos) and I’m that way with my dogs. I like to pick them up and carry them everywhere. I’m very touchy-feely in that sense. My brother says my dogs are scared of “how much I love them”. That’s not completely untrue.

I dare say the similarities end there. She’s about 13 years younger than I am… how much could we have in common?

Sure, I quote her on a daily basis (because her videos stick in your head, okay?!) but that’s normal. If America is obsessed with this little diva, why can’t I be forgiven for being slightly affected?

Leave a Reply

