Tomorrow and tomorrow and.. well, is there still one?

Here’s the obligatory End of the World post.

There is even a playlist called Pre-End Of The World on 8tracks.com. 0 plays so far but I’ll check it out. Okay, it’s rap with a whole lot of swearing. Never mind.

Anyway, it’s 25 minutes to midnight on the 20th of December and I’m not sure how it’s suppose to work, this End of the World thing. Is the world suppose to implode at midnight of the 21st? or on the midnight of the 22nd? Or is there an asteroid that’s going to hit us? I’ve heard the 3 days of darkness thing too, so, is that it?

If we’re going to go, I want to know how. Details people. I’d like to know.

But, really, if we’re going to die, do you have any regrets?

I’m not sure that I do. I don’t regret anything I’ve done, not completely. I do regret the fact that I have not traveled much or gone camping. I’ve never climbed a tree or gone kayaking. I have never changed a tyre or driven around much. I’ve never been in a relationship, well, a romantic one or moved out of my parents’s place.

But I’ve come close to dying many times. I’ve skipped classes and pretended to be sick. I’ve told the tallest tales and I’ve performed on stage. I’ve been to a war memorial site in Melbourne and I’ve prayed with over a million people in a World Youth Day mass. I’ve actually done my cousin-ly duty and looked after the younglings. I’ve talked to a friend for over an hour on the phone and I’ve had friends cry on my shoulder.

If I do die in a couple of minutes or in the next 24 hours, my only regret is that I didn’t get to go for confession this Advent season. Well, that and disappointing my parents because of my cold-feet about my career choices.

But apart from those two (huge) issues, I think I don’t mind dying. Not too much. I still hope we don’t though. I’d like to figure out what I’m suppose to be before I go.

Leave a Reply

