‘What is the point of knowing the order of the alphabet?’

I didn’t write this but I saw it on the website I obviously spend most of my online-time at:

“one of the worst moments in life is probably when you’re in a room full of people and you look around and see them all talking and laughing and all of sudden you feel so sad and lonely that you can even feel a physical pain in your chest because you realize that they all belong to someone and they all have someone who belongs to them and you don’t, you’re just kind of there.”

I don’t know if you’ve ever felt that way, but I have. I thought it was something to contemplate. It’s completely relevant to you if you have ever felt invisible.

There are also posts like this:

“Gave my students a pop quiz today and learned something new:

If you make all the answers to the questions C, you will see 35 of the most hilariously panicked and confused faces in the world.”

Spending time talking to strangers online, you end up building a sort-of friendship. People confide in you easily when they know it is extremely unlikely that you could ever tell on them to people that they know. There’s a comfort in the almost-anonymity that talking to a person from the complete opposite side of the globe gives.

Then again, there are secrets that you would never tell a soul; secrets that go to the grave with you.

I don’t know what the point of this post is. I just felt like writing something.

Leave a Reply

