This is pest control

I decided to look through my Facebook contacts to see how many people of the (initial number) 553 people were people I considered friends. I decided that since I just started classes in university, none of my “new acquaintaces” would be deleted off the list. So, I looked through the rest.

There were faces I didn’t recognise; UNFRIEND.

There were faces I saw from afar: UNFRIEND

There were faces I recall from years ago that never, ever said hello anymore: UNFRIEND

There were faces I remember laughing with: scroll past.

There were faces that I used to fear; they’ve only ever said two words to me: UNFRIEND

There were faces that I have spent a lot of time with: scroll past.

There were faces that I knew when I was very much younger: scroll past.

 

Final count: 508.

Was I harsh in deleting my contacts? I don’t think so. I was definitely of no consequence to them and nor were they to me. I believe it was an amicable “break-up” and the best part is, they would not even realise. Because really, why pretend to have almost a thousand friends or even more than a hundred friends, if you cannot look at their face and think back of a time where you shared a moment, one that you will forever remember.

Facebook is yes, a way to reconnect with people but don’t bother with too many wires; it’s as redundant as having 500 copies of the same newspaper, in a language you don’t even understand.

Leave a Reply

