My mother looked at me today and said, “I still can’t believe you’re twenty years old. Somehow, you’re still a little girl to me.” I’m a sap, so that got to me. And in true ‘cheesy TV moment’ fashion, I answered, “I’ll always be your little girl, Mum. No matter how old I get.”

“I’ll be upstairs if anyone needs me.”

“Okay. Study hard and score well.

“You must get good marks, you know.”

“I know, I promise. I will.”

I don’t want to let my parents down, I don’t. I have a few weeks till my finals and believe me, I really want to score a HIGH for them, instead of the past two MEDIUMS and a LOW. The last LOW brought me to tears in my room two nights ago leading me to deactivated my Tumblr account temporarily (I followed Rae’s method of getting someone to change my password until my exams are over). I do want to make them proud and I’m reminded constantly, especially lately with all the work issues they’ve been going through, of how much they’ve sacrificed and risked for me to be where I am.

I must get the HIGH for them and for me. Say a prayer for this med student if you can, okay?

Leave a Reply

