Rise

 And why do we fall, Bruce? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.

So, I just came back from watching The Dark Knight Rises. And it was bloody brilliant. I swear, it’s one of the best movies I’ve ever watched in.. ever. If it loses to Twilight at the MTV Movie Awards next year… oh bother, Twihards always win anyway. Because they’re the ones with the endless energy to keep voting. 

I just decided to pick that quote from the first movie in the trilogy (and the title of this post is after the last installment) because right now it means a lot to me. I think we all need to remember that sometimes. I don’t know how you’ve been, dear reader, but should you have had some problems recently, or felt lonely or broken, you’re not alone. It’s normal to want to crumble and cry sometimes.

But the purpose of every tribulation is to let us build up who we are. It’s for us to keep in mind that we came from something, we are made in brokeness. One of my favourite quotes from Blessed John Paul 2 is ‘We are not the sum of our weaknesses and failures; we are the sum of the Father’s love for us and our real capacity to become the image of his Son.’  

I am a broken person. I have the most ridiculous mood swings. I’m not a good friend. I’m a little crazy. I’m a little worn out. Like so many of us, I have secrets that would cause friends to turn their back on me. We hide things, we are mean.. callous. We steal. We hurt. We can be monsters. But I’ve come to realise that even with the tears in the fabric that makes me who I am, I am still a child of God. I am still a human being with a purpose. I have dreams that need to be accomplished and things to do.

It’s normal to feel like things are horrible right now. You may feel like the 1000 piece puzzle you’ve been given is made up of all the pieces that form the edges and not the center of the picture. You may feel like every step is a big mistake, a step in the wrong direction. Just keep this in mind: wherever you’re going, you’re in control. I believe that the only people in control of who we are to become in the future is ourselves. Not the outside forces that causes our ship to sway (I am so handy with the imagery at 2.21am).

It really is up to you how you want to approach a situation. It’s up to you to change who you are and who you want to be. If you decide that you’re going to let each scrape and tumble in the dust break you, then you’re definitely going to end up unhappy. If you decide that each fall makes you get up stronger, you’ll be the Bruce Wayne of your own future. Success and failure is a choice. Happiness is a choice.

Choose wisely.

Leave a Reply

