You know how you mention something in passing, something trivial, and are surprised to hear that someone remembers it a while later? It’s nice right? It’s always a great feeling to know that what you said resonated with this person, or even that the person cared enough about you or were curious enough to commit that information to memory.

I guess I’ve had that experience before but the one significant one that stuck with me was mentioning that I had not eaten at A&W in a really long time to a friend of mine. I liked that she remembered that fact a few months later. I know it’s meaningless and silly but the fact that she remembered was nice. I’ll always remember that Melanie cared enough to know that, even if it was an unconscious decision to.

Today, a friend surprised me by remembering my favourite Terry Pratchett character, Sam Vimes. I mentioned it on Monday while we were discussing books and how he just started reading Terry Pratchett’s work, and he remembered it today and asked me if I could lend him the first book with Vimes in it. Yes, it was 5 days ago but seriously, I didn’t think anyone would remember that.

I don’t know about you but I try to remember little details about people because little details matter. I enjoy seeing the surprise and pleasure on another person’s face when they hear that I remember something small. And I think that that is human nature. We all want to know that there is someone out there who cares about you, who knows the little things about you because if they can remember that, they can remember the big ones, the more important ones.

Leave a Reply

