speak

Communication.

It’s one of the fundamental lessons we are taught as children. We learn how to speak, we learn how to explain our needs and wants, we learn to simply say things that are on our minds.

I don’t think anyone can go without proper company. Even a loner talks to someone, or wants to talk to someone. Religious people who live in seclusion, well, they talk to God. Man is not an island. At the very least we are a group of islands in the same region, connected by stepping stones or underwater tunnels. Even islands are connected by the currents on the seabed. If you are the kind of person who doesn’t need other people, I take my hat of to you. (a metaphorical hat, of course because i don’t wear hats on a daily basis. or any basis for that matter. i don’t think i even own a hat.)

In my clinical skills classes we learn how to talk to patients. Many times, patients come in with a hidden agenda; something that is pressing to them but they can’t find the guts or the words to explain it. They tend to “scout the area” to see if they can trust the person with absolutely anything. And believe me, trying to build rapport with someone in under 10 minutes is really tough.

People are secretive. During the trip to a certain clinic where we were to interview patients for ur case commentary, I found that my patient hid things from her doctor. When initially asked, she said that she did not take any traditional medication. But as the interview progressed and she grew more comfortable, she said she took quite a few things.

I guess that’s how we are all wired right? We stop talking because we’re afraid of judgement. or we avoid the topic altogether, sweeping feelings and emotions under the carpet because we don’t want to bring up the elephant in the room. I know that i do that, and I know people who do that.

But how good is it to hide things? How good is it to set that bar to communication? What do you think of the lady hiding her medication from her doctor? Maybe she thought she would be labelled as “old-fashioned” for believing in traditional stuff but by not telling the doctor, she could put herself at risk of having Western medication interact badly with the other herbs she takes. Similarly, when we pretend or avoid, we are simply causing harm to ourselves. We run from a problem instead of tackling it head on.

Now that’s the bigger issue right?

Maybe we should learn to open our mouths. Maybe we should learn to stop pretending that everything is okay when it isn’t. I know, that as a future medical practioner, I would want all my patients to trust me implicitly with anything. I would hope to gain that same trust, and to give that same trust to my friends.

Leave a Reply

