don’t be bored

It’s almost 2am and I’m wide awake. I guess that’s what you can blame on sleeping the evening away. But my eyes are getting a little heavy so I’ve decided to go back to sleep after typing this:

My mother played this video, a talk by the late Archbishop Fulton Sheen (who is one of the best speakers I have ever heard) and these lines stood out to me:

And this is what I want to tell you: to work hard. Because really, most of us live below the level of our energy. And, in order to be happy, we have to do more. And we can do more, spiritually and in any other way, than we are doing.

So you see how important it is to have in the mind the idea to do all that you can to work to the limit of your ability. Our world is really suffering from indifference. Indifference is apathy, not caring.

I’m going to plead with you therefore, not to be bored in life. The reason we’re bored is because we don’t love anything.

I just thought I’d let you mull over that.

Leave a Reply

