Year 1: Week 1

I’m guessing that maybe a few of you would like to know how [official] WEEK 1 went. Where do I start?

As I mentioned in the previous post, I didn’t know what I was doing in medical school. Day 1’s first lecture seems ages away really. What was it really like? What is medical school really like?

Intimidating.

I felt so lost. No, it wasn’t because I didn’t understand what the lecturers were going on and on about; it was because it didn’t fit. I came home and sobbed in my room, complaining to Suan Li that this was a big mistake. I felt so hopeless, I felt trapped. I didn’t like where I was or what I was doing. If I could have, I would have jumped off a cliff to end it.

Clearly, I didn’t.

I woke up on Day 2 and dabbed away the remnants of the open floodgates. Day 2 went better. We (my group of 10 people) had our first “Clinical Skills” session with one of the more “IN YOUR FACE” lecturers so it kept you on your toes. First “Problem Based Learning” session on Wednesday which was okay. We didn’t really know what we were getting into which made for a kinda awkward position, since we got the lecturer who was pretty quiet. Our group kept getting sidetracked.

Thursday was alright with the Anatomy Briefing. We have 2 models in our lab; one is a preserved body with just the blood vessels and another of muscles. It was a little alarming to think that those two models were once people. They may have had children, they may have fallen in love, they were someone’s family. Stuff like that always causes me to have a little freak-out moment.

Friday was short with one lecture and a 15 minute briefing on “Feedback from Transition Camp”. But this coming week is a heavy one. Classes from 8am to 4/5pm, with the one hour lunch break in between. I’ve gotten my books (only for Anatomy somehow) and so the real work has begun. Maybe I’ll take a picture of them and post it up tomorrow or something for you to see. Yes, medical school is far from easy.

So do I think I’m where I should be? Time will tell. There are days when I feel “yes, I’m glad to be here” and other when I wish I was elsewhere. Will I have the MBBS after my name one day? Will I make it through 5 years? Will I make it through this semester?

we’ll see.

5 thoughts on “Year 1: Week 1

Leave a Reply

