Day 11 – A book you hated

I can’t say I’ve hated any book. I generally enjoy most of them. I don’t hate Twilight either. I just don’t find it impressive.

But since I have to choose, the book I struggle with the most is Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott.

I know that it’s a classic dear to so many but my main issue with it is more to do with the way Ms Alcott decided to write her characters, specifically Amy, Jo and Laurie. Little Women ended with so much hope and joy but Good Wives took it away from me.

Beth’s death was expected. It was sad but fine, I’ll let that one pass. I understand that it was very “real” of her to kill off Beth in a tragic way.

But what she did with Jo and Laurie made me so mad. Why would you be so cruel as to tear two people apart like that? Laurie loved Jo so much but she rejected him. He goes off and while he’s away she realises her true feelings. THEN he comes back married to Amy. OF ALL THINGS TO DO! Seriously? Amy? AMY the brat? Whiny Amy? I hated Laurie at that moment. And Amy! Come on, are you so blind that you can’t see that he belongs with your sister?! The fictional characters I never forgave!

Then Jo marries this German professor who’s barely in the book. He hardly has any history with her, he doesn’t know her like Laurie did and she freaking marries him. I got so mad at the book. I got so mad at Louisa May Alcott. I wish she had stopped at Little Women. I wish she had never written the continuing stories. Good Wives left a bitter taste in my mouth and I could never continue with Little Men or Jo’s Boys. Taking Laurie and Jo away from each other will forever rank as one of the stupidest things to ever write.

Okay. I’ll admit it. I hate Good Wives.

One thought on “Day 11 – A book you hated

Leave a Reply

