you matter

So I’m going to break RULE NUMBER 1 so forgive me (!).

As you know I have an account on Tumblr and I follow about 70+ people (yes, shockingly low!). The one thing everyone loves to get is a little message that says “I love your blog/I like your work/I have something to say about something you posted/any message at all really’. It’s a treasure to see something in your inbox. It’s nice to know that someone out there cares. It’s the same thing as getting a letter in the mail. It’s silly but so exciting. It’s wonderful to hear from someone, to feel that bond.

Which brings me to what I want to write about today; You Matter. Whoever you are, wherever you are, YOU matter. I may not say this often enough to my friends and to my family but I really appreciate all of you in my life. My world would not be complete without you. If you ever feel that you’re not worthy, that you’re alone, that you’re unappreciated, STOP. I want you to know that you mean so much to me. No matter how trivial you consider our friendship to be, you are still a friend to me. I’d listen if you have something to say.

Friends (And family!!) are the most important people in your life. They’re the ones who bring you up when you’re down. They’re like a bowl of hot soup when there’s rain outside. They’re the nice cool breeze when you take a morning walk. They’re the punch-line in a joke. They’re the ones who laugh as hard as you did when they hear the joke. They’re the ones who give you “the look” when you go too far. They’re the ones who’ll cheer for you to go on stage to sing (against your will) because they know you secretly want to.They’re the ones you call at night because you need to rant about the bad day you’re having. They’re the ones who’ll hate those you hate with more venom than you do. They’re the ones who’ll call up your boyfriend and prod them with questions shamelessly while you tell them what to say. They’re the ones you run to the loo with to discuss something behind locked doors.

They’re so much of who you are.

Every day, we take things for granted. We take people in our lives for granted. Let’s not wait until it’s too late for us to really think about how a person’s presence in your life has changed you or affected you. I don’t want to and I don’t think you want to either. Maybe take some time to say HEY. THANKS FOR BEING A FRIEND. to someone who matters to you. There is nothing like it. That person will always be grateful for it. Just think about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

