Wouldn’t it be loverly?

I was bored so I decided to go with one of the “Writing Prompts” that WordPress provides and so, I selected: Name your favourite old movie.

If you know your musicals, you’d notice that the title of this post is from the musical My Fair Lady. I was first introduced to this musical in the form a movie. I think I was nine years old when I first watched it. There was this CD (oh the days of CDs!) in Old Klang Road, where I used to stay who had this marvelous collection of old movies. My mother always brought us up to be more “cultured” and among the many she bought us was My Fair Lady.

The music was magic. I’m sure you’ve probably heard of “I could have danced all night” and “On the Street Where You Live”. My personal favourite is sung by Eliza’s father “With A Little Bit of Luck” which is funny from start to end. The whole show is a delight with characters that will forever be engraved in your memory. Then again, you’d have to love musicals or music at least. Wait, scratch that, my mother doesn’t really like music and she loves this movie. So all you need basically, is a certain palette for old films.

My Fair Lady was one of Audrey Hepburn’s later films. Along with Rex Harrison and Wilfrid Hyde-White, it’s a classic. It’s a great adaptation and one very dear to me. I know most of the songs by heart except “Never Let a Woman in Your Life” unfortunately. Audrey didn’t sing but was dubbed over with Marni Nixon’s voice for all the songs except “Just You Wait ‘erny ‘iggins” [except for the more melodious middle section].

If you don’t know what My Fair Lady is about, here from IMDB:

A chance meeting between two noted British linguists, Prof. Henry Higgins and Col. Hugh Pickering, leads to a wager that will test Higgins’ skills. After they hear a cockney flower girl caterwaul in the street, Higgins proposes to transform the girl, Eliza Doolittle, into a refined Victorian lady with an aristocratic accent. After some hesitation Eliza agrees to become their test case.

-Written by alfiehitchie

I don’t know if you’ll ever be able to get hold of a really good version but there are passable ones online, if you know where to look. If you want, I could give you some links. For what it’s worth, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

