geronimo

Tomorrow is the end of my days as an A-level student. (unless, God forbid, I have to retake my tragic Physics paper. Let’s hope for the best right?)

I have learned so much in the past year and a half. I have built friendships with a class full of people that are absolutely dear to me. S1 July 2010 has been the best class I’ve ever been in. There was no back-stabbing or hatred or shunning of anyone. We genuinely love each other and have become a really close knit group. I really hope that this bond that we share will never die. I am grateful for every moment we’ve all shared together and I thank you all (though not everyone can read this) from the bottom of my heart. I am so glad to be part of this family.

Tomorrow will also be the day that I close the door on Pre-University studies. Next year, at this time, I hope to pursuing my tertiary education in a university that I am absolutely excited to be in. I am scared. Unlike many of my high school friends who have already completed a year or a term in their degree programs, I feel like I am left behind. It’s weird when people look at you and say “Oh you’re STILL doing A-levels?”. But as my mother would say, it’s not how fast you get there, it’s whether or not you REACH. Sure, I’ll be slower than the rest of you but I will do my best to be where I’ve always wanted to be.

So what are my plans post-A2? I genuinely don’t know yet. I have those forms to fill for the CommonApp and I know I’ll spend the next few weeks crossing my fingers (and toes!) hoping for an offer from the universities I’ve applied to. Not only for my sake but for the sake of my parents who have done their best to give me every opportunity. I really hope things work out.

Anyway.

to the year ahead and to the years I’ve left behind. Allons-y.

Leave a Reply

